Big Days · Zilko's Life

#1977 – This Day Last Year

ENGLISH

This day last year, my contract at TU Delft officially ended; though I just got my PhD degree about five months later, haha ๐Ÿ˜› . This day last year was the start of my sabbatical month, a month where I intentionally chose to be unemployed. I meant it to be a “break” after the clearly stresful years of PhD research and to help me transition into the industry, where I would start my new job the month later. Obviously, I travelled a lot during the month last year, where I went to Bucharest, Athens, Santorini, and Sint Maarten, haha.

And wow, it has been a full year since then!! Time flies really fast!!

It has been (almost) a full year since this ultimate plane selfie at Sint Maarten!!!

You see, September 2016 was a big month to me. Essentially it was my “transitioning” month from my life in the academia to my life in the industry.

So far I am really happy with this decision of mine. I feel like I have made a good one here where , in the past year, I feel like I have enriched myself with a lot of new expertise, experience, and many different things! All thank to this one decision.

Anyway, September 2017 will come in “dull” if I compare it to September 2016. But this is not a fair statement because of the very different nature of where I am during those two months. If I travelled and tried to relax a lot last year, this year I will just work, haha. Okay, I do have a few weekend trips planned so those would be fun. But still, it is hard to beat a sabbatical month, no? Haha

It has also been (almost) one year since this sunset in Oia, Santorini.

BAHASA INDONESIA

Hari ini setahun yang lalu, kontrakku di TU Delft resmi berakhir; walaupun aku baru mendapatkan gelar PhD/S3-kuย sekitar lima bulan kemudian sih, haha ๐Ÿ˜› . Hari ini setahun yang lalu adalah awal dari bulan sabatikalku, satu bulan dimana sengaja aku memilih untuk menjadi pengangguran, haha. Bulan itu aku maksudkan sebagai bulan “istirahat” sejenak setelah bertahun-tahun riset PhD yang stressful dan untuk membantuku bertransisi ke industri, dimana aku akan memulai sebuah pekerjaan baru sebulan kemudian. Jelas, aku juga banyak jalan-jalan dong di bulan itu, dimana aku pergi ke Bucharest, Athena, Santorini, dan Sint Maarten, haha.

Dan wow, ternyata sudah satu tahun penuh ya semenjak waktu itu!! Waktu berlalu sungguh cepat!!

Ternyata sudah (nyaris) setahun penuh loh semenjak ultimate plane selfie di Sint Maarten ini!!!

Nah kan, September 2016 jelas adalah bulan yang besar untukku. Pada dasarnya bulan itu adalah bulan “transisiku” dari kehidupanku di akademia ke kehidupanku di industri.

Sejauh ini aku merasa senang dengan keputusanku ini. Aku merasa aku telah membuat keputusan yang tepat dimana, setahun belakangan ini, aku merasa aku sudah menambah banyak pengetahuan, pengalaman, dan banyak hal lainnya ke dalam diriku! Semuanya berkat satu keputusan ini.

Anyway, September 2017 jelas akan nampak “membosankan” jika aku bandingkan dengan September 2016. Tetapi ini bukan lah pernyataan yang adil mengingat karakteristik dua bulan ini yang sangat berbeda. Aku banyak berjalan-jalan dan bersantai-santai tahun lalu, sementara tahun ini aku akan bekerja, haha. Oke, memang sih ada beberapa perjalanan akhir pekan yang sudah kurencanakan jadi tetap bakal seru lah tapinya. Tapi tetap aja lah ya, tentu sulit untuk mengalahkan sebuah bulan sabatikal, ya kan? Haha

Juga sudah (nyaris) setahun nih semenjak sunset di Oia, Santorini ini.
13 thoughts on “#1977 – This Day Last Year

  1. Tapi, aku setuju dengan pernyataan Zilko ๐Ÿ™‚ Kadang-kadang emang ada saatnya lho kita ngerasa “Dull” kalo kerja di industri…But, tetap harus dinikmati pastinya ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

