my apartment · Zilko's Life

#1952 – Apartment First World Problem

ENGLISH

Now that I live alone in my own apartment, obviously there are some practicality adjustments from when I still lived in Delft. Here was my previous housing situation in Delft: I rent a room in a house which I shared with three other housemates.

Far away

While my housemates and I shared the common areas (kitchen, bathroom, etc), obviously most of my stuffs were in my 16m2 room. And so if I needed anything, I did not need to walk that far to get it, haha.

But now that I live in my own apartment by myself, my stuffs are spread throughout the entire apartment! And so if I need some things, sometimes I have to walk quite far to get them; well, at least much further than back then in Delft! Lol 😆

Infrared stoves

My apartment is in a new building so that there is no gas supply. And so, instead of the common gas stoves, my apartment is equipped with infrared stoves (Btw, I never knew that infrared waves could be used to cook things priort to acquiring this apartment! Lol 😆 ).

Anyway, I cooked with gas stoves for five years prior to moving to Amsterdam and I actually quite liked them. In my first two years in the Netherlands, though, I got induction stoves in my apartment. What I learned from that time is that I need to really regularly clean the glass surface to not let any residue crystalizes and hardens, because that would make it a nightmare to clean!!

So, yeah, now I must develop of cleaning my infrared stoves (which also have glass surface) regularly! Haha 😆

BAHASA INDONESIA

Dengan sekarang aku tinggal sendiri di apartemen milikku, jelas ada beberapa penyesuaian dari ketika aku masih tinggal di Delft. Berikut ini situasi tempat tinggalku sebelumnya di Delft: aku menyewa satu kamar di sebuah rumah yang aku shared dengan tiga housemates lain.

Jauh

Walaupun housemates-ku dan aku jelas sama-sama menggunakan area umum di rumah itu (dapur, kamar mandi, dsb), jelas dong kebanyakan barangku berada di dalam kamarku yang berukuran sekitar 16m2. Jadi jika aku membutuhkan apa-apa, aku tidak perlu berjalan jauh untuknya, haha.

Nah, tapi sekarang dengan tinggal di apartemenku sendiri, barang-barangku jelas tersebar di seluruh penjuru apartemen! Jadi jika aku membutuhkan sesuatu, kadang aku harus berjalan jauh untuknya; yah, setidaknya lebih jauh daripada ketika di Delft! Haha 😆

Kompor infra-merah

Gedung apartemenku adalah bangunan baru yang tidak lagi tersambung dengan sistem suplai gas. Sebagai akibatnya, bukannya kompor gas yang mainstream itu, aku menggunakan kompor infra-merah di apartemenku (Btw, sebelum membeli apartemen ini, aku tidak pernah tahu loh bahwa gelombang infra-merah ternyata bisa digunakan untuk memasak! *Kemana ajaaa?* Hahaha 😆 ).

Anyway, aku memasak dengan kompor gas selama lima tahun sebelum pindah ke Amsterdam dan aku menyukainya. Di dua tahun pertamaku di Belanda, apartemenku menggunakan kompor induksi sih. Yang aku pelajari dari waktu itu adalah aku harus membersihkan permukaan gelasnya itu secara rutin dan sering agar residu-residu kotorannya tidak mengeras. Ini karena kalau sudah mengeras, kotorannya jadi susah banget dibersihkan!!

Jadi iya nih, sekarang aku harus membiasakan untuk membersihkan kompor infra-merahku (yang memiliki permukaan gelas juga) secara rutin! Haha 😆

