#1900 – Amsterdam, Here I Come!!

ENGLISH

Since starting working in Amsterdam last October, I have been commuting every working day between Delft and Amsterdam. My observation at the time turned out to be robust enough, where I needed to spend about three hours everyday just to commute; unless when there was a train disruption, in which case it would be longer.

While I started to get used to it, I realized this was still not sustainable in the long run. There was basically less and less rationale for me to still live in Delft as time went on. The cheaper rent in Delft became irrelevant anyway (it has been so since I started working actually), as I got more than good enough salary to afford Amsterdam’s (expensive *cough*) accommodation, haha. And now that I have officially finished my PhD in TU Delft, I can say there is no more reason for me to still live in Delft.

The moment I became a Doctor, also the moment where living in Delft became significantly less reasonable.

Yep, it is now all obvious to me. I have decided that I am moving to Amsterdam.

I write this post because I have made concrete steps in realizing this decision. In fact, it is already confirmed that I am moving to the capital this month, haha 😆 . Further details into this shall become one special upcoming post. So stay tuned for that! 🙂

But yeah, after moving to Delft almost seven years ago, it is about time for me to close the Delft chapter of my life really soon. Yep, this might sound super dramatic considering Amsterdam is only about 55 km from Delft, haha. But still… .

Having lived in Delft this long. In this town I got my Master and Doctorate (PhD) degrees. In this town my life in Europe started. Yup, Delft will always be a big and important part of my life 🙂 .

Marktplein in Delft as viewed from the top of the Nieuwe Kerk

Delft

BAHASA INDONESIA

Semenjak mulai bekerja di Amsterdam bulan Oktober lalu, aku telah nglaju di setiap hari kerja antara Delft dan Amsterdam. Pengamatanku waktu itu cukup akurat, dimana setiap hari aku perlu menghabiskan sekitar tiga jam di jalan; kecuali jika ada gangguan kereta api yang mana dalam kasus ini waktunya tentu lebih lama lagi.

Walaupun aku mulai terbiasa dengan rutinitas ini, aku menyadari bahwa ini tetap sama sekali tidak berkelanjutan (sustainable) untuk jangka panjang. Seiring berjalannya waktu, semakin sedikit keuntungan bagiku untuk tetap tinggal di Delft. Biaya sewa akomodasi yang lebih murah di Delft juga (sebenarnya semenjak awal mulai kerja) tidak relevan, karena toh aku mendapatkan gaji yang jauh lebih dari cukup untuk mampu tinggal di sebuah akomodasi di Amsterdam (yang mahal itu *uhuk*), haha. Dan juga sekarang aku telah menyelesaikan PhD (S3)-ku di TU Delft, artinya semakin tidak ada lagi alasan untukku tetap tinggal di Delft.

Momen aku menjadi seorang Doktor, juga momen dimana tinggal di Delft menjadi jauh lebih tidak masuk akal lagi.

Yep, kini semuanya sudah jelas untukku. Aku telah memutuskan untuk pindah ke Amsterdam.

Posting ini aku tulis karena aku telah membuat langkah-langkah nyata untuk merealisasikan keputusan ini (jadi bukan omdo, haha 😛 ). Malahan, sudah terkonfirmasi kok bahwa aku akan pindah ke ibukota bulan ini, haha 😆 . Cerita lebih mendetail mengenai ini adalah bahan satu posting yang akan datang. Jadi ditunggu aja ceritanya! 🙂

Tetapi, ya, jadilah semenjak aku pindah ke Delft nyaris tujuh tahun yang lalu, kini sudah waktunya untukku menutup bab Delft dalam hidupku. Iyaa, memang terdengar dramatis dan berlebihan banget ya. Apalagi Amsterdam kan cuma sekitar 55 km aja dari Delft, haha. Tetapi tetap aja… .

Aku sudah tinggal di Delft sedemikian lama. Di kota ini lah aku mendapatkan gelar Master (S2) dan Doktoral (S3)-ku. Di kota ini lah kehidupanku di Eropa dimulai. Ya, Delft akan tetap menjadi satu bagian besar dan penting dalam hidupku 🙂 .

17 thoughts on “#1900 – Amsterdam, Here I Come!!

  1. Baru sempt baca. Huhuhu.

    Iihhh sekali lagi selamat ya zilko. Udah lebih bisa bangun siang yak buat ke kantor. Udah bisa makan dua kali sehari lagi 😆

Leave a Reply

