#1896 – My 2017 Annual Trip to Paris

ENGLISH

Every year since 2012, I always go to Paris to watch the French Open (Roland Garros). It turns out that this year, it will be no difference πŸ™‚ .

Last week I got a reminder that the regular tickets would be sold to public this Wednesday. So I marked my calendar around the time of the sales opening and scheduled no meeting during the day, haha πŸ˜› (While waiting for my turn, obviously I could work).

How was it? Well, in short, it did not go as smooth as last year, haha πŸ˜† . I was already ready with everything since minutes before the opening. When the sales website went open, however, it crashed! 😣

I could not access it for minutes and I tried to open it via a few different sources. Only in my last trial, from a link they provided in their official Facebook account, worked. But I did this about five minutes since the official opening time. As a result, I was already number 35,000-ish in the queue 😣.

This year I was the 35K-something-th person in the queue 😣

Understandably, I felt super annoyed by this. Number-wise, this was indeed not as bad as two years ago, when I was at 50,000 something in the queue. However, it turned out to be “worse” than two years ago as I only finally got my access to the sales page after 135 minutes, or 30 minutes longer than two years ago WHILE my position in the queue was about 15,000 more to the front.

The situation inside the sales page was, therefore, quite similar to two years ago. There was no ticket left for the men’sΒ singles semifinals and final on Friday and Sunday. Luckily, I was able to snatch a ring 1 ticket for the women’s singles final on Saturday! Haha πŸ˜† . The seat was located at different tribune of Court Philippe Chatrier in comparison to last year and two years ago, so it would be interesting, I guess!

At Court Philippe Chatrier last year

Anyway, yeah, my amazing experience last year and two years ago made me want to go to the final again this year! Haha πŸ˜† . Only getting the women’s singles final ticket was not all bad, though, as this meant IΒ could go back to the Netherlands on Sunday; meaning I would not need to take any of my holiday allowances for this trip! Haha πŸ˜† .

Btw, in 2014, 2015, and 2016, I flew to go to Paris for this annual trip. I actually was thinking to do the same this year, given my well-documented love for flying. However, after some consideration (mainly involving the time I would need to leave my office on Friday afternoon, haha, and a quick research), I decided to take Thalys’ high-speed train service this year. Yep, the last time I took Thalys was for the Roland Garros 2013 trip. That was four years ago! 😲

The last time I caught a Thalys train was in 2013.

This year, however, it will still slightly be different, though; because my return Thalys rides will be in FIRST CLASS!! Hahaha πŸ˜† . Yep, I found a good deal for Thalys’ first class with the schedule that I preferred. In fact, for my return trip, my first class ticket was €18 cheaper than the second class ticket! Lol!

So, yeah, I am excited to be back in Paris, again!! πŸ™‚

BAHASA INDONESIA

Setiap tahun semenjak 2012, aku selalu pergi ke Paris untuk menonton French Open. Ternyata, tahun ini tradisi ini masih akan berlangsung πŸ™‚ .

Minggu lalu aku mendapatkan reminder mengenai tiket reguler yang akan mulai dijual untuk umum hari Rabu ini. Jadilah kalenderku kutandai di sekitar waktu pembukaan penjualannya dan aku tidak merencanakan meeting apa pun sepanjang hari, haha πŸ˜› (Sembari menunggu giliranku, jelas aku masih bisa bekerja).

Bagaimanakah perburuan tiketnya? Secara singkat, tidak semulus tahun lalu, haha πŸ˜† . Ceritanya aku sudah siap semenjak beberapa menit sebelum penjualanΒ tiket di website resminya dimulai. Ketika jam penjualannya dimulai, website-nya crash dong!! 😣

Aku tidak bisa membukanya selama beberapa menit dan aku mencoba mengaksesnya melalui beberapa sumber. Baru di usaha terakhirku, melalui link yang diberikan di laman Facebook resminya, aku bisa masuk. Sebagai akibatnya, aku sudah berada di urutan ke 35.000an deh di antriannya 😣.

Tahun ini aku adalah orang ke-35000-sekian di antriannya 😣

Jelas, aku merasa sebal karena ini. Memang sih secara angka, tidak seburuk dua tahun yang laluΒ kok, dimana waktu itu aku berada di urutan ke-50.000an. Namun, ternyata tahun ini toh masih “lebih buruk” daripada dua tahun yang lalu karena aku baru bisa beneran masuk ke halaman penjualan tiketnya setelah mengantri 135 menit, alias 30 menit lebih lama dari dua tahun yang lalu PADAHAL posisiku di antrian adalah lebih di depan sebanyak 15.000an posisi.

Situasi di halaman penjualan tiketnya, akibatnya, juga mirip-mirip lah seperti dua tahun yang lalu. Tiket untuk babak semifinal dan final tunggal putra di hari Jumat dan Minggu sudah ludes. Untungnya, aku masih bisa mendapatkan tiket ring 1 untuk final tunggal putri di hari Sabtu. Haha πŸ˜† . Kursinya berada di tribun yang berbeda di Lapangan Philippe Chatrier dibandingkan tahun lalu dan dua tahun yang lalu, sehingga bakal menarik, sepertinya!

Di Lapangan Philippe ChatrierΒ tahun lalu.

Anyway, iya kok, pengalaman seruku tahun lalu dan dua tahun lalu membuatku ingin menonton finalnya lagi tahun ini! Haha πŸ˜† . Hanya mendapatkan tiket final tunggal putri juga nggak jelek-jelek amat kok sebenarnya, karena artinya aku bisa pulang ke Belanda di hari Minggu; artinya aku tidak harus menggunakan jatah cutiku untuk perjalanan ini! Hore! Haha πŸ˜† .

Btw, di tahun 2014, 2015, dan 2016, aku pergi ke Paris dengan pesawat untuk perjalanan tahunan ini. Sebenarnya, tahun ini aku sempat berpikir untuk terbang lagi, nggak mengherankan lah jika mempertimbangkan kecintaanku untuk naik pesawat yang sudah banyak banget ceritanya di sini, haha. Namun, setelah beberapa pertimbangan (utamanya sih waktu dimana aku harus meninggalkan kantor di hari Jumat sore, haha, dan riset kilat), aku memutuskan untuk menaiki kereta super cepat Thalys tahun ini. Yep, terakhir kali aku naik Thalys adalah untuk perjalanan Roland Garros tahun 2013ku. Dan itu kan empat tahun yang lalu! 😲

Terakhir kali aku naik Thalys adalah di tahun 2013.

Tahun ini, tapinya, akan sedikit berbeda loh; karena perjalananku pulang pergi dengan Thalys kali ini adalah di FIRST CLASS!! Hahaha πŸ˜† . Yep, aku menemukan promo oke first class-nya Thalys dengan jadwal yang aku suka. Malahan, tiket first class kepulanganku itu lebih murah €18 (sekitar Rp 270 ribu) daripada tiket second class-nya loh! Haha!

Anyway, iyaa, senang rasanya aku akan kembali ke Paris lagi!! πŸ™‚

11 thoughts on “#1896 – My 2017 Annual Trip to Paris

Leave a Reply

