#1878 – Post-PhD Trips (Introduction)

ENGLISH

Posts in the Post-PhD Trips series:
1. Introduction
2. Part I: Genova
3. Part II: Cinque Terre
4. Part III: Firenze
5. Part IV: Roma
6. Part V: A Weekend in Marseille

Two weeks ago, I had my PhD defense and graduation which my parents and brother attended as well. When planning for the trip here, as they would already be in Europe anyway, they were thinking of organizing some trip around the continent. In the end, they chose Italy, Spain, and southern France (clearly avoiding the cold 😛 ).

Due to my now limited holiday allowances, I was not able to join them in the entirety of the trip. As I could onle spend one week of my holiday allowance, I could only join the Italy part.

Manarola

Manarola in Cinque Terre

I was excited for this because one main destination in Italy we would like to visit was the famous Cinque Terre. To get there, we flew to Genova, a city closest to Cinque Terre with an airport.

The famous David by Michaelangelo

The famous David by Michaelangelo. I was being anti-mainstream so I took a picture of its back 😛 .

We also visited Firenze (Florence) and Rome in this trip. I already went to Firenze in 2010 while I have been to Rome twice; the second time with my brother, actually. But both were beautiful cities so I was not uninterested to go back there.

The famous spiral stairs at Vatican Museum

The famous spiral stairs at Vatican Museum

From Rome, I went back to Amsterdam because it was already Sunday and I would need to go back to work on Monday.

A week later, in the weekend I went to Marseille in southern France, where my parents and brother would be. I already went to Marseille in 2014. I also found it to be beautiful so I was willing to go back there as well.

As a consequence, my flying map of this trip looks like this:

The flying map. Created with gcmap.com

The flying map. Created with gcmap.com

Lol.

Oh, and also, in the Paris – Genoa flight, I was upgraded to Europe business class again! 😀 Yes, again! And so in the month of January, I was upgraded and flew twice in Europe business class! Haha 😆 .

Light dinner service on board HOP! Regional's Europe Business Class!

Light dinner service on board HOP! Regional’s Europe Business Class!

Yeah, it was quite some hopping I had to do; but it was also a lot of fun!! 🙂 As usual, here are some teasers from the trip(s):

BAHASA INDONESIA

Posting-posting dalam seri Post-PhD Trips:
1. Introduction
2. Part I: Genova
3. Part II: Cinque Terre
4. Part III: Firenze
5. Part IV: Roma
6.Part V: A Weekend in Marseille

Dua minggu yang lalu, aku menjalani sidang dan wisuda PhD/S3ku yang mana juga dihadiri orangtua dan adikku. Ketika merencanakan perjalan ke sini, karena toh mereka sudah akan sampai di Eropa, mereka berpikir untuk sekalian jalan-jalan mengelilingi benua ini gitu. Pada akhirnya, mereka memilih Italia, Spanyol, dan Prancis selatan (jelas banget ya menghindari dinginnya Eropa 😛 ).

Karena jatah cutiku yang kini terbatas, aku tidak bisa bergabung dengan mereka di keseluruhan perjalanan. Aku cuma bisa menggunakan jatah cutiku sebanyak satu minggu saja, yang mana artinya aku bisa menemani di Italia.

Manarola

Manarola di Cinque Terre

Aku semangat banget untuk ini karena satu tujuan utama di Italia memang adalah teman yang sudah ingin banget aku kunjungi, Cinque Terre. Untuk ke sana, kami terbang ke Genova, sebuah kota terdekat yang memiliki bandara.

The famous David by Michaelangelo

Patung David yang terkenal banget itu, karya Michaelangelo. Supaya anti-mainstream aku memfotonya dari belakang, haha.

Kami juga mengunjungi (Firenze/Florence) dan Roma di perjalanan ini. Aku sudah pernah ke Firenze di tahun 2010 sementara aku sudah pernah ke Roma dua kali; malah yang kedua adalah bersama adikku. Tapi dua kota ini kan kota yang indah ya sehingga aku tidak berkeberatan untuk kembali kesana.

The famous spiral stairs at Vatican Museum

Tangga spiral di Museum Vatikan yang nge-hits banget itu

Dari Roma, kami kembali ke Amsterdam karena sudah hari Minggu dan aku harus kembali bekerja di hari Seninnya.

Satu minggu kemudian, di akhir pekan aku pergi ke Marseille di Prancis selatan, menyusul orangtua dan adikku. Aku sudah pernah ke Marseille di tahun 2014. Kota ini juga indah menurutku sehingga aku senang dapat kembali ke sana lagi.

Sebagai akibatnya, peta penerbanganku di penerbangan kali ini nampak seperti ini:

The flying map. Created with gcmap.com

Peta penerbangan kali ini. Dibuat dengan gcmap.com

Huahaha 😆

Oh iya, di penerbangan Paris – Genoa, aku di-upgrade ke kelas bisnis Eropa lagi loh! 😀 Iya, lagi! Jadi sepanjang bulan Januari itu dua kali deh aku di-upgrade dan terbang di kelas bisnis Eropa! Huahaha 😆

Light dinner service on board HOP! Regional's Europe Business Class!

Layanan makan malam ringan di kelas bisnis Eropanya HOP! Regional!

Ya, memang akhir-akhir ini kok aku loncat-loncat gitu ya di Eropa; tetapi seru sih!! 🙂 Seperti biasa, di atas adalah beberapa teasers dari perjalanan(-perjalanan) ini.

30 thoughts on “#1878 – Post-PhD Trips (Introduction)

  1. Peta penerbangannya keren banget ya mas, top lah… tampaknya akan semakin sering di upgrade nih. Yang saya masih ngiler lihat Manarola, cakep abis ya…. semoga kesampean saya ke sana.

    Oh ya, sebelumnya selamat ya Mas untuk lulusannya!

Leave a Reply

