Contemplation · Thoughts

#1854 – 2016 In Review

ENGLISH

Previous years posts:
1. 2008
2. 2011
3. 2012
4. 2013
5. 2014
6. 2015

Yep, it is that time of the year again!Β The year 2016 is coming to an end and I need to close it out here, i.e. posting my last post of the year. And as usual, I would like this post to be about the year 2016 in review, from my personal perspective.

In general, 2016 was a big year for me; arguably the biggest one in recent years. It was even bigger than 2012 where I finished my Master study and decided to do a PhD. This year, even though not officially yet, I finished my PhD study and has decided to move to industry after getting a new nice job in Amsterdam. Certainly this was a pivotal moment in my life, thus this year becoming a big deal in the history of myself (lol πŸ˜† ).

Even though not as diverse (destination-wise) as 2015, I also did a lot ofΒ travelling this year; which I still did in a monthly basis, haha πŸ˜› . Most of them were weekend trips, where I even introduced a new type of weekend trip: Avgeek Weekend Trip, haha πŸ™‚ .

Anyway, without further ado let us get to the usual, the month by month review!

**

January 2016

I started the year by flying business class from Mexico to the USA, toΒ the city of my dream: New York. I stayed in New York for almost one week where I explored the city; from visiting all those famous touristic sites to watching a Broadway show. It was totally really fun, New York was super awesome!!

New York
It is up to you, New York, New York.
Brooklyn Bridge
The Brooklyn Bridge
Central Park
The famous Central Park in New York
The Charging Bull
The Charging Bull in Wall Street

After recovering from the awful eastward jetlag, it was business as usual. I went back to work where I put my focus on finishing my two journal publications which I had been working on up to that point.

February 2016

I started February by going on my first weekend trip of the year to the city of Bilbao in Spain. I got upgraded to Europe Business Class on my way there, btw.

Bilbao and the NerviΓ³n River
Bilbao and the NerviΓ³n River
Dinner at a one Michelin star restaurant, and I had this Pigeon Five Way
A one Michelin star restaurant in Bilbao

Mid-February, I got the good news where my application for the Dutch permanent residenceship (PR) was granted. My older highly skilled migrant-based residence permit, thus, automatically expired and I was given the new card.

To end February, it was snowing in Delft and I went on another weekend trip to Warsaw in Poland.

Warsaw
Warsaw
A demonstration in Warsaw
A demonstration in Warsaw

March 2016

March was mostly about work, and this time I could (finally) put more time and focus on my dissertation.

At the end of March, I started my Spring trip to Baltic which spanned across March and April. I spent the March-part of the trip in Stockholm (Sweden) and Riga (Latvia).

Stockholm City Hall
Stockholm City Hall
Riga, Latvia
Riga, Latvia

April 2016

I started the month by spending the April-part of the trip in Helsinki (Finland) and Tallinn (Estonia).

The amazing Rock Church in Helsinki
The Rock Church in Helsinki
Tallinn, Estonia
Tallinn, Estonia

A week later, I started my first ever Avgeek Weekend Trip where I was flying Amsterdam – Paris CDG – Stuttgart – Amsterdam over the course of the weekend with Air France, CityJet, and KLM Cityhopper.

While working on my dissertation, I also started to actively looking for some career opportunity this month. I decided to submit an application to an Amsterdam-based company while at the same time a recruiter contacted me to potentially offerΒ a job in the south of Netherlands.

May 2016

I went on a long weekend trip to Rennes in France in May. In this trip, I also went to Mont Saint-Michel, a site I had been wanting to visit for years!

Jardin Saint-Georges in Rennes
Jardin Saint-Georges in Rennes
Le Mont Saint Michel
Le Mont Saint-Michel

Mid-May, I went to Munich in Germany for a conference trip. Yes, my last conference trip during my PhD years. I did not have to present anything there, even though my supervisor actually presented my research.

The Staatskanzlei in Munich
The Staatskanzlei in Munich
Marienplatz in Munich
Marienplatz in Munich

Meanwhile, I got good news from the two jobs I was in touch with in April. After some consideration, I decided to take the offer made from the Amsterdam-based company.

June 2016

I started the month by going on my annual trip to Paris, to watch Roland Garros! πŸ™‚ I got tickets for both days of finals of the tournament this year. Too bad, though, the players I supported, Serena Williams and Andy Murray lost both of their finals matches 😦 .

Garbine Muguruza won her first grandslam title after defeating Serena Williams
Garbine Muguruza won Roland Garros
Andy Murray serving
Andy Murray serving at Roland Garros

Another highlight from the month was my second Avgeek Weekend Trip where I flew Amsterdam – Madrid – Frankfurt – Amsterdam. The Madrid – Frankfurt part of the trip was done on board LATAM Chile’s business class πŸ˜€ .

The business class cabin
LATAM Chile’s business class cabin

July 2016

My theme for July was to work hard finishing my dissertation. It had come to the point were it started to materialize (form-wise). Mid-July, I managed to snag another Avgeek Weekend Trip to France (Lyon and Nice).

Le Mont Blanc, the highest mountain in Europe
Le Mont Blanc, the highest mountain in Europe

To close out July, I went on a weekend trip to Geneva in Switzerland. I was supposed to fly Kuwait Airways to get to Geneva from Frankfurt; but then for a mysterious reason I was moved to a Lufthansa CityLine flight.

The Broken Chair in Geneva
The famous Broken Chair in Geneva
The longest wooden bench in the world, as I found out from The Amazing Race 28
The longest wooden bench in the world in Geneva

August 2016

August was the last month of my PhD contract at TU Delft. So I needed to make sure that my dissertation was ready by the end of the month. So much pressure indeed! To release some of those pressure, I secured a short Avgeek Weekend Trip in the middle of the month to Paris and Lyon, haha.

A pre-landing warm drink service
I was invited to sit in Europe business class from Lyon to Amsterdam.

At the end of August, my parents came from Indonesia for a trip around Europe and the Caribbean with me in the following month.

September 2016

The theme of this month was: my sabbatical month!! Officially I was unemployeed the whole month and I made use of this rare time of my life to do some travel in Europe and the Caribbean with my parents. In Europe, we went to Bucharest in Romania and Santorini in Greece (with stops in Brasov and Athens as well).

Bucharest
Bucharest
Oia
Oia, Santorini

In the Caribbean, we went to an island I had been wanting to go in the last decade or so: Sint Maarten, mainly for the Maho Beach and Princess Juliana International Airport (SXM). It was so nice to have another dream come true!!

A KLM's Boeing 747-400 reg PH-BFG
Flying A KLM’s Boeing 747-400 too!!
Indeed! I ❀️ SXM
Yup! I ❀️ SXM
An Air France's Airbus A340-300 landing at SXM
An Air France’s Airbus A340-300 at SXM.
Marigot
Marigot, Saint Martin (French-side).

My parents went back to Indonesia at the end of the month, and I made use of this time to rest and to prepare myself for the next chapter of my life.

October 2016

I started my new job in Amsterdam this month. It was definitely a new environment so I needed to adapt and build myself into that. On top of that, I had to deal with the three hours of commute every single day. It was a bit tough in the beginning, but slowly I was getting used to it.

I went on another Avgeek Weekend Trip at the end of the month to Copenhagen and Stockholm.

A Cimber's Bombardier CRJ900 reg OY-KFG operating for SAS
A Cimber’s Bombardier CRJ900 reg OY-KFG operating for SAS

November 2016

I had settled better at my new job in Amsterdam at this point; where I enjoyed it more and more. I also went on a short weekend trip to Vienna in Austria mid-month.

Hofburg, Vienna
Hofburg, Vienna

December 2016

I started December with a short weekend trip to Frankfurt, in Germany to go to the famous Christmas Market there.

Frankfurt Christmas Market
Frankfurt Christmas Market
GlΓΌhwein
The famous glΓΌhwein

And now, I am enjoying my time in Indonesia πŸ™‚

***

Yeah, this summed up my 2016!! Let 2017 be even better and more awesome!! πŸ™‚

BAHASA INDONESIA

Posting-posting tahun-tahun sebelumnya:
1. 2008
2. 2011
3. 2012
4. 2013
5. 2014
6. 2015

Yep, sudah akhir tahun nih! Tahun 2016 akan segera berakhir dan aku perlu menutupnya di sini, yaitu dengan posting terakhirku tahun ini. Dan seperti biasa, aku ingin menuliskan review kehidupan tahun 2016ku.

Secara umum, 2016 adalah tahun yang besar untukku; mungkin adalah tahun terbesar dalam beberapa tahun terakhir. Bahkan lebih besar daripada 2012 dimana waktu itu aku menyelesaikan studi Master (S2)-ku dan memutuskan untuk lanjut ke jenjang PhD (S3). Tahun ini, walaupun masih belum resmi sih, aku sudah menyelesaikan studi PhD-ku itu dan telah memutuskan untuk berpindah haluan ke industri setelah mendapatkan pekerjaan yang oke di Amsterdam. Jelas ini adalah batu loncatan penting dalam hidupku, yang mana otomatis tahun ini menjadi tahun penting di sejarah kehidupanku kan (haha πŸ˜† ).

Walaupun tidak se-macam-macam (dari segi tempat tujuan) tahun 2015, aku juga melakukan cukup banyak jalan-jalan tahun ini; yang masih bisa kulakukan setiap bulan, haha πŸ˜› . Kebanyakan perjalanan akhir pekan sih, dimana aku juga memperkenalkan satu tipe perjalanan akhir pekan baru: Avgeek Weekend Trip, haha πŸ™‚ .

Anyway, langsung saja kita mulai cerita bulan per bulannya seperti biasa!

**

Januari 2016

Tahun ini aku mulai dengan terbang di kelas bisnis dari Meksiko ke Amerika Serikat, ke sebuah kota impianku: New York. Aku tinggal di New York selama sekitar satu minggu dimana aku menjelajahi kotanya; mulai dari mengunjungi tempat-tempat turistik yang terkenal itu hingga menonton pertunjukan Broadway. Seru banget deh, New York memang keren abis!!

It's up to you, New York, New York!
It’s up to you, New York, New York!
The bustling FIfth Avenue of New York
Fifth Avenue di New York
Lady Liberty
Nyonya Liberty di New York.
Hello, Brooklyn Bridge
Brooklyn Bridge

Setelah memulihkan diri dari jetlag, semuanya kembali ke kehidupan sehari-hari sih. Aku kembali ke kantor dimana fokusku adalah menyelesaikan dua publikasi journal paper-ku yang telah menyibukkanku selama beberapa bulan terakhir sampai waktu itu.

Februari 2016

Februari aku mulai dengan perjalanan akhir pekan pertamaku tahun ini ke kota Bilbao di Spanyol. Aku juga di-upgrade ke kelas bisnis Eropa di perjalananku kesana, btw.

The Guggenheim Museum
Guggenheim Museum di Bilbao
The Vizcaya Bridge in Portugalete
Jembatan Vizcaya di Portugalete

Di pertengahan Februari, aku mendapatkan berita baik dimana aplikasi permohonan kependudukan-tetapku di Belanda (PR) dikabulkan. Jadilah otomatis residence permit lamaku yang bergantung pada status highly skilled migrant hangus dan aku diberikan kartu yang baru.

Untuk menghakhirki Februari, salju turun di Delft dan aku pergi dalam sebuah perjalanan akhir pekan lagi ke Warsawa di Polandia.

The centrum of Warsaw
Warsawa
A sunset in Warsaw Central
Sunset di Warsawa

Maret 2016

Maret berisi kerja dan kerja, dan kali ini (akhirnya) aku bisa lebih fokus dalam penulisan disertasiku.

Di akhir Maret, aku pergi dalam sebuah perjalanan musim semi ke Baltik yang berlangsung sampai bulan April. Di bulan ini, aku berada di Stockholm (Swedia) dan Riga (Latvia) untuk perjalanan ini.

Stockholm, Sweden
Gamla Stan di Stockholm
The distinctive Riga Radio & TV Tower
Menara radio dan TV di Riga

April 2016

Bulan ini kumulai dengan perjalanan musim semiku dimana aku pergi ke Helsinki (Finlandia) dan Tallinn (Estonia).

The Cathedral of Helsinki
Katedral Helsinki
St. Catherine's Passage in Tallinn
Gang St. Catherine’s di Tallinn

Seminggu kemudian, aku memulai Avgeek Weekend Trip pertamaku dimana aku terbang Amsterdam – Paris CDG – Stuttgart – Amsterdam di satu akhir pekan dengan Air France, CityJet, dan KLM Cityhopper.

Sembari disibukkan dengan disertasiku, aku juga mulai mencari peluang-peluang karier di bulan ini. Aku memutuskan untuk mengajukan satu aplikasi ke sebuah perusahaan di Amsterdam dan pada saat yang sama aku dikontak oleh seorang recruiter yang menawariku sebuah kesempatan untuk sebuah pekerjaan di Belanda selatan.

Mei 2016

Aku pergi dalam sebuah perjalanan long weekend ke Rennes di Prancis di bulan ini. Di perjalanan ini, aku bisa pergi ke Mont Saint-Michel, sebuah tempat yang sudah lama ingin aku kunjungi!

Rennes Old Town
Kota Tua Rennes
You can also rent a horse carriage
Le Mont Saint-Michel.

Pertengahan Mei, aku pergi ke Munich di Jerman untuk sebuah konferensi. Iya, perjalanan konferensi terakhirku di tahun-tahun PhDku. Aku nggak harus presentasi sih di sana, walaupun pembimbingku mempresentasikuan risetku.

The Isartor in Munich
Isartor di Munich
A proof that I visited the Allianz Arena in Munich
Allianz Arena di Munich

Sementara itu, aku mendapatkan berita baik dari kedua lowongan pekerjaan di bulan April itu. Setelah beberapa pertimbangan, aku memutuskan untuk mengambil tawaran yang dibuat oleh perusahaan di Amsterdam.

Juni 2016

Bulan ini aku mulai dengan perjalanan tahunanku ke Paris untuk menonton Roland Garros! πŸ™‚ Aku mendapatkan tiket untuk kedua hari finalnya tahun ini. Sayangnya, petenis-petenis yang kudukung, Serena Williams dan Andy Murray, kalah di babak final 😦 .

Serena William serving
Serena Williams di Roland Garros tahun ini.
Novak Djokovic completed the Nole Slam at Roland Garros 2016
Novak Djokovic menjuarai Roland Garros.

Satu highlight lagi bulan ini adalah Avgeek Weekend Trip keduaku dimana aku menerbangi rute Amsterdam – Madrid – Frankfurt – Amsterdam. Dan rute Madrid – Frankfurt-nya aku terbangi dengan kelas bisnisnya LATAM Chile loh πŸ˜€ .

The complimentary snack service in business class
Snack di kelas bisnis.

Juli 2016

Tema bulan Juliku adalah kerja keras untuk menyelesaikan disertasiku. Waktu itu, bentuk disertasiku sudah mulai nampak nyata. Di pertengahan Juli, aku bisa menyelipkan sebuah Avgeek Weekend Trip ke Prancis (Lyon dan Nice).

Approaching runway 04L of Nice Cote D'Azur International Airport.
Cote D’Azur yang kece di Prancis selatan.

Untuk mengakhiri Juli, aku pergi dalam sebuah perjalanan akhir pekan ke Jenewa di Swiss. Aku seharusnya terbang dengan Kuwait Airways dari Frankfurt ke Jenewa; tetapi entah karena alasan apa aku dipindahkan ke penerbangan Lufthansa CityLine.

L'horloge fleurie in Geneva
L’horloge fleurie di Jenewa
Jet d'eau in Geneva
Jet d’eau di Jenewa

Agustus 2016

Agustus adalah bulan terakhir kontrak PhDku di TU Delft. Jadi aku harus memastikan bahwa disertasiku akan siap di akhir bulan ini. Iyaa, banyak banget tekanannya! Untuk sedikit menyalurkan tekanan itu, aku pergi dalam sebuah Avgeek Weekend Trip di pertengahan bulan dimana aku pergi ke Paris dan Lyon, haha.

A HOP! BritAir's Bombardier CRJ1000 reg F-HMLH, second flight
Sebuah Bombardier CRJ1000nya HOP! BritAir’s Bombardier

Di akhir Agustus, orangtuaku datang berkunjung dari Indonesia untuk sebuah perjalanan selama satu bulan berkeliling Eropa dan Karibia di bulan selanjutnya.

September 2016

Tema bulan ini adalah: bulan sabatikalku!! Secara resmi aku adalah pengangguran di sepanjang bulan ini sehingga aku memanfaatkan waktu yang jarang ada dalam hidupku ini untuk jalan-jalan di Eropa dan Karibia bersama dengan orangtuaku. Di Eropa, kami pergi ke Bucharest di Romania dan Santorini di Yunani (dengan sekalian mampir di Brasov dan Athena juga).

The Dracula Castle
The Dracula Castle
Oia
Oia, Santorini.

Di Karibia, kami pergi ke sebuah pulau yang sudah kira-kira satu dekade terakhir ini ingin aku kunjungi: Sint Maarten, terutama Pantai Maho dan Bandara Internasional Princess Juliana (SXM) di sana. Senang sekali rasanya dimana satu mimpiku menjadi kenyataan lagi!!

The Mullet Bay in Sint Maarten
Pantai Mullet di Sint Maarten
A Delta's Boeing 757-200 landing at SXM
Boeing 757-200nya Delta mendarat di SXM
In Sint Maarten!!
Di Sint Maarten!!
Maho beach
Pantai Maho

Orangtuaku kembali ke Indonesia di akhir bulan ini, dan aku memanfaatkan waktu ini untuk beristirahat dan mempersiapkan diriku untuk memulai babak baru dalam kehidupanku.

Oktober 2016

Pekerjaan baruku di Amsterdam aku mulai bulan ini. Jelas ini adalah lingkungan yang baru sehingga aku perlu menyesuaikan diriku. Di samping itu, aku juga harus nglaju selama tiga jam setiap hari. Awalnya ini berat juga, tetapi perlahan-lahan aku mulai terbiasa.

Bulan ini aku tutup dengan Avgeek Weekend Trip lagi dimana aku pergi ke Kopenhagen dan Stockholm.

A gourmet weekend dinner at Stockholm - Arlanda
Makan malam di Stockholm – Arlanda

November 2016

Aku sudah mulai mendapatkan ritme di pekerjaan baruku di Amsterda di waktu ini; dimana aku semakin menikmatinya. Aku juga pergi dalam sebuah perjalanan akhir pekan singkat ke Vienna di Austria di pertengahan bulan.

The Naturhistorische Museum in Vienna
Museum Sejarah Alam di Vienna

December 2016

Desember aku mulai dengan perjalanan akhir pekan singkat ke Frankfurt di Jerman untuk menikmati Christas Market di sana.

It wasn't difficult at all to find glΓΌhwein at the market.
Frankfurt Christmas Market.
A glΓΌhwein booth
Penjual glΓΌhwein

Dan kini, aku menikmati waktu liburanku di Indonesia πŸ™‚ .

***

Yah, begini deh tahun 2016ku!! Semoga tahun 2017 menjadi tahun yang lebih baik dan semakin seru lagi!! πŸ™‚

27 thoughts on “#1854 – 2016 In Review

  1. Congratulations for your PhD! It is really awesome to congratulate the (still) young person for their PhD. Ambil bidang apa btw? Enjoy your “balik kampung” trip, waiting for the story.

  2. Waaa iri berat deh sama travelling caleidoscope nya!! Yang broken chair itu ada2 aja deh..dan baru nyadar, foto2nya beda toh yg bagian english sama bahasa, selama ini cm baca bagian english aja -_-“

    1. Hahaha, iya fotonya aku pilih yang beda-beda antara dua bagian itu. Tapi semuanya foto-foto lama kok yang pernah aku jadiin bagian posting-posting terdahulu, hahaha πŸ˜› .

  3. Ahh seru banget destinasi weekend getaway-nya kece-kece. Saya orang Jakarta weekend getaway-nya paling ke mall :)) SXM-nya tetep bikin irii πŸ˜€

    Anyway, happy new year, Zilko! Semoga makin sering lagi ya traveling-nya ke destinasi yang makin kece!

    1. Huahaha, iya dong Ky, daripada bosen di Belanda terus πŸ˜› . Haha, iyaa, SXM itu memang hadiah untuk diri sendiri πŸ˜› .

      Trims! Happy new year juga untuk kamu Ky! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

