Posted in EuroTrip, Vacation, Weekend Trip

#1759 – My 2016 Roland Garros Trip (Part II: Paris)

ENGLISH

Posts in the My 2016 Roland Garros Trip series:

1. Introduction
2. Part I: Roland Garros (Saturday)
3. Part II: Paris
4. Part III: Roland Garros (Sunday)

***

Getting to/from Paris

Obviously I chose to fly to get to/from Paris, haha😆 .

KL Logo

Flight: KLM Royal Dutch Airlines KL1233 and KL1234
Equipment: Boeing 737-800 reg PH-BXY and Boeing 737-700 reg PH-BGH

Both flights were regular Amsterdam – Paris vv flight with KLM. So actually there is not much to share about here, haha😆 . Btw, upon arriving at Paris – Charles De Gaulle Airport, appropriately, I was greeted by Rafael Nadal, hahaha😆

Arriving in Paris and I was greeted by Rafael Nadal
Arriving in Paris and I was greeted by Rafael Nadal

Paris

I was lucky that my trip to Paris was, at least, not during the Paris flood (you see, it was something serious as there is even a dedicated Wikipedia article of it!). So the situation there was already recovering and, while still being hindered a little bit, everything was already working quite well (including the metro, which was very important to me).

Paris was, well, Paris🙂 . What more can I say🙂 .

In the very little time I had outside of my visit to Roland Garros, I decided to go to the super famous Arc De Triomphe in Champs Elysees. Why? Well, because I felt like it, haha😆 . I mean, I have been to Paris several times before so I have pretty much seen quite many of Paris’ main attractions😛 .

2016 Arc De Triomphe selfie
2016 Arc De Triomphe selfie

Champs Elysees was, as always, one of a kind. Most people you would see there dressed themselves very well; you know, probably to live up to the expectation of being in the most famous shopping street in one of the fashion capitals of the world, haha😆 . I was lured to enter one of the shops there, which obviously was just a spontaneous impulse because I had no shopping plan with only one backpack with me for the whole weekend, lol😆 . And you know what, I almost bought one or two t-shirts there for my upcoming but still unrevealed big trip this September😉 . But then luckily my sanity quickly gained control and I put those t-shirts back in the display😛 .

The Food

Obviously my focus was not on the food at all and so I did not use the app Yelp during this trip. But I did have some expectation that I should have got, at least, good food in general considering that it was Paris, haha😆 . While it was still, overall, good, indeed; somehow I felt a little bit underwhelmed. For instance, for my first dinner in Paris, as always I had my favorite Parisian dish: confit de canard (duck confit). And it looked like this:

A very basic confit de canard dish
A very basic confit de canard dish

Something was clearly missing from the dish, wasn’t it? Yeah, it was the side salad! Okay, even though the star of a confit de canard dish is always the duck, I do feel like the dish still needs its secondary elements to be complete. The duck leg itself was cooked really well; and the french fries and ketchup made the dish substantial enough for a dinner. But I did really miss the salad.

As a result, after returning to my hotel that evening, I decided to go to the restaurant and ordered a mini Parisian salad (which wasn’t mini at all in my opinion)! Haha😆 .

A petit Parisian salad
A petit Parisian salad

I also went to the restaurant near Stade Roland Garros in which two years ago I had an amazing escalope de veau dish. Even though I was disappointed last year with the dish, I decided to give it another try this year. It turned out that the dish was okay this year. It was not super amazing (the veal was too well-done to me), but it was not as “disappointing” as last year, haha…

TO BE CONTINUED…

BAHASA INDONESIA

Posting-posting dalam seri the My 2016 Roland Garros Trip:

1. Introduction
2. Part I: Roland Garros (Saturday)
3. Part II: Paris
4. Part III: Roland Garros (Sunday)
***

Ke Paris

Jelas dong aku naik pesawat untuk pergi ke Paris, haha😆

KL Logo

Penerbangan: KLM Royal Dutch Airlines KL1233 dan KL1234
Pesawat: Boeing 737-800 reg PH-BXY dan Boeing 737-700 reg PH-BGH

Kedua penerbangan adalah penerbangan regulernya KLM di rute Amsterdam – Paris pp. Jadilah aku merasa tidak perlu banyak menuliskannya lah ya, haha😆 . Btw, ketika tiba di Bandara Paris – Charles De Gaulle, aku disambut dengan sangat amat pantas oleh Rafael Nadal loh, hahaha😆

Arriving in Paris and I was greeted by Rafael Nadal
Tiba di Paris dan aku disambut oleh Rafael Nadal

Paris

Aku beruntung aku pergi ke Paris, setidaknya, tidak ketika banjir Paris terjadi (jelas kan banjirnya serius, sampai-sampai ada artikel Wikipedia khusus tentangnya!). Jadilah ketika itu situasinya sudah dalam masa pemulihan dan, walaupun masih ada sedikit gangguan di sana-sini, secara umum semua hal di Paris sudah bekerja dengan baik kok (termasuk metronya, yang mana krusial banget untukku).

Paris itu, yah, Paris🙂 . Mau dideskripsikan bagaimana lagi ya🙂 .

Di waktuku yang amat sedikit di luar kunjunganku ke Roland Garros, aku memutuskan untuk mampir di Arc De Triomphe yang super terkenal itu di Champs Elysees. Mengapa? Yaa, karena pengen aja, haha😆 . Maksudku, aku sudah beberapa kali ke Paris sebelumnya sehingga rasanya aku sudah melihat sebagian besar atraksi-atraksi utamanya Paris😛 .

2016 Arc De Triomphe selfie
2016 Arc De Triomphe selfie

Champs Elysees itu, seperti biasa, memang unik banget ya. Kebanyakan orang yang kita lihat di sana itu modis-modis; ya tahu lah ya, mungkin agar cocok dengan ekspektasi jalan-jalan di sebuah jalanan pertokoan paling terkenal di salah satu ibukota fashion dunia, haha😆 . Oh iya, aku terbujuk untuk masuk ke sebuah toko di sana, yang mana jelas adalah tindakan spontan karena aku sama sekali tidak ada rencana belanja di Paris dengan hanya satu tas ransel saja yang kubawa untuk keseluruhan perjalanan ini, haha😆 . Dan tahu nggak, aku nyaris membeli satu atau dua kaus loh untuk perjalanan besarku bulan September nanti yang memang belum aku umumkan😉 . Tetapi untung akal sehatku segera mengambil alih situasi dan aku nggak jadi belanja😛 .

Makanannya

Jelas fokusku bukanlah makanan di perjalanan kali ini dan jadilah aku tidak menggunakan app Yelp sama sekali. Tetapi aku sedikit memiliki ekspektasi akan apa yang aku harapkan sih, yaitu setidaknya makanan yang secara umum enak lah ya di Paris, haha😆 . Walaupun secara umum memang makanannya beneran enak, tetapi aku kok sedikit merasa kecewa ya. Misalnya saja, di makan malam pertamaku di sana, aku memesan masakan Paris favoritku: confit de canard. Dan penampakannya seperti ini:

A very basic confit de canard dish
Confit de canard yang amat dasar

Masakan ini jelas kekurangan sesuatu kan? Iya, kekurangan salad! Oke, memang sih yang namanya bintang dari sebuah masakan confit de canard adalah selalu daging bebeknya. Namun, aku rasa masakannya masih memerlukan elemen sekundernya agar bisa dibilang komplit. Memang sih daging bebeknya ini dimasak dengan enak; dan kentang gorengnya juga membuat menunya mengenyangkan kok. Hanya saja, aku masih merasa kekurangan saladnya!

Sebagai akibatnya, setelah kembali ke hotel malamnya, aku mampir di restorannya hotel untuk memesan salad Paris ukuran kecil loh (yang mana menurutku ukurannya sih nggak kecil ya)! Haha😆 .

A petit Parisian salad
Sebuah salad Paris ukuran kecil

Aku juga memutuskan mampir di restoran di dekat Stade Roland Garros yang mana dua tahun lalu aku makan menu escalope de veau yang enak banget di sana. Walaupun tahun lalu aku sedikit kecewa dengan menunya, aku memutuskan untuk mampir lagi tahun ini. Walaupun memang masakannya nggak enak-enak banget yang gimana (dagingnya terlalu matang untukku), tetapi bukannya “mengecewakan” juga seperti tahun lalu sih, haha…

BERSAMBUNG…

12 thoughts on “#1759 – My 2016 Roland Garros Trip (Part II: Paris)

Leave a Reply

