Posted in Conference Trip, EuroTrip, One Week Trip, Travelling

#1741 – Hello from München

ENGLISH

Yes, you read the title right. At the moment I am sitting in my hotel room in Munich, Germany! Haha😆 . Okay, not exactly in the city center of Munich but actually in a small city called Garching about 15 km to the north of Munich.

😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱

Yeah, I know, about a week ago I just went to Rennes, France, for a long weekend trip; and now I am going on another trip😛 . I know, it seems that I have already had a lot of trips this year, haha😆 . While I may agree with that, I just count that this trip is actually my seventh trip this year. So it pretty much depends on how you define “a lot”, haha😆 .

However, this trip is very different in nature than all the preceding six trips though. If all of those six trips were personal, this trip to Munich is actually a business trip😉 . Yeah, as usual, I am going to a conference this week. But unlike all my previous conference trips (Bergen in 2012, London in 2013, Corsica in 2014, and Tokyo in 2015), I am not presenting anything this year. I am going because my supervisor invited me to the conference’s topic is very related to my PhD research and so naturally this conference is very interesting to me. Moreover, I still have more than enough budget (in my research project) for another conference trip anyway, so why not😉.

While on it, this is a biennial conference and actually two years ago the conference was held in, well, Beijing, China! Damn! I wish the location of this conference had been more exotic than “just” Munich (read: somewhere in the Caribbean or Australia would do, for instance😛 ). But then again I would probably have not been approved to go if the conference had been than far while I would not be presenting anything. Haha😆 .

Yeah, this is what I meant yesterday. I am attending a conference this week which starts on Tuesday so today, which technically a public holiday in the Netherlands, I must work by getting myself to Munich :P .

Anyhow, yeah, that is it for now!! Auf Wiedersehen!😉

A hotel view in Garching

BAHASA INDONESIA

Yup, judulnya benar kok. Saat ini aku sedang duduk di kamar hotelku di kota Munich, Jerman! Haha😆 . Oke, nggak di pusat kota Munich-nya sih tetapi sebenarnya di sebuah kota kecil bernama Garching sekitar 15 km di utara Munich.

😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😱

Iya, aku tahu, semingguan yang lalu aku baru saja pergi ke Rennes di Prancis untuk sebuah perjalanan long weekend; dan sekarang aku pergi lagi di sebuah perjalanan lainnya😛 . Aku tahu, memang kayaknya tahun ini aku banyak jalan-jalannya ya, haha😆 . Mungkin aku setuju sih dengan pernyataan itu, baru saja kuhitung ini adalah perjalananku yang ketujuh tahun ini. Jadi tergantung dulu dari definisi “banyak” itu apa yah, haha😆 .

Namun, perjalanan ini sendiri unik dan berbeda dari enam perjalanan sebelumnya sih. Jika semua enam perjalanan sebelumnya itu adalah acara jalan–jalan sendiri, perjalanan ke Munich ini adalah sebuah perjalanan bisnis😉 . Iyaa, seperti biasanya, aku mengunjungi sebuah konferensi minggu ini. Tetapi, tidak seperti semua kunjunganku ke konferensi-konferensi sebelumnya (Bergen di tahun 2012, London di tahun 2013, Korsika di tahun 2014, dan Tokyo di tahun 2015), aku tidak akan presentasi apa pun di konferensi ini tahun ini. Aku datang karena pembimbingku mengajakku untuk ikutan pergi topik dari konferensi ini sangat amat berkaitan dengan riset S3-ku sehingga jelas konferensi ini amat menarik untukku. Lebih jauh lagi, toh aku masih memiliki budget lebih dari cukup (dari proyek risetku maksudnya) untuk sebuah perjalanan konferensi lagi jadi mengapa tidak kan😉 .

Mumpung masih ngomongin topik ini, konferensi ini diadakan satu kali setiap dua tahun dan sebenarnya dua tahun yang lalu konferensinya diadakan di Beijing, China loh! Ah! Kenapa ya lokasi konferensinya tahun ini nggak lebih eksotis daripada “sekedar” Munich (baca: kenapa engga di Karibia atau di Australia gitu kek misalnya? Hahaha😛 ). Ah, tetapi kalau dipikir-pikir lagi mungkin aku tidak akan diizinkan pergi apabila lokasi konferensinya sejauh itu sementara aku tidak akan mempresentasikan apa-apa. Haha😆 .

Yup, memang ini sih maksudku kemarin. Aku menghadiri sebuah konferensi minggu ini yang akan dimulai di hari Selasa sehingga hari ini, yang mana secara teknis adalah tanggal merah di Belanda, aku harus bekerja dengan cara pergi ke Munich😛 .

Yah, segitu dulu deh ya untuk saat ini!! Auf Wiedersehen!😉

25 thoughts on “#1741 – Hello from München

Leave a Reply

