Posted in Contemplation, Thoughts

#1672 – 2015 In Review

ENGLISH

Okay, somehow the entire year of 2015 has almost passed by. Yeah, just like that and we are now already at the end of the year! How rapidly time flies this year!! Anyway, just like in 2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2014, I want to recap this year in a single post, reviewing this year of mine…

But first of all, before going in month by month as usual, for sure there is one thing which stands out the most from this year: my frequency of travelling! Haha😆 . I am sure a lot of this blog’s followers are not surprised though, given the amount of travelling-related posts I have written this year! Unlike all my previous years, I basically travelled every single month this year, be for a short weekend trip or for a longer intercontinental trip.

This is something which I certainly am very grateful I had the opportunity to do so; thanks mainly to the abundant amount oh holiday leaves from my work which allowed me to do so (and this year was pretty much the first year where I used almost all of it😛 ).

Anyway, here we go…

***

January 2015

I started the year partying in the famous beach of Goa, in India😛 . My friends and I travelled for another nine days in India this month, including a visit at the majestic Taj Mahal. With India being a one of a kind travel destination, this India trip was such an eye-opening to me.

The Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal
A very crowded and polluted Delhi
Old Delhi

The rest of the month was just normal stuff. I also got a confirmation that my conference paper was accepted, thus confirming that my Spring trip later on in March would surely happen (and I would not need to pay for the tickets and the expenses during the conference myself😛 ). But overall it was just a normal working month in January.

February 2015

In my first weekend of February, I went on a weekend trip to Naples, Italy where I got the chance to visit one item in my bucket list of travel: the ancient town of Pompeii. Another memorable experience of this trip was where I missed my connecting flight to Naples in Paris (due to my inbound flight from Amsterdam needed to get de-iced due to the cold night (another first-time experience here)). As a result, instead of flying Amsterdam – Paris – Naples, I ended up flying Amsterdam – Paris – Rome – Naples. Well, not that I was complaining though😛 .

The gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius in the background
The gulf of Naples
Pompeii
Pompeii

A more work-related highlight from this month was a student whose Master’s thesis research I supervised graduated. It was my first time ever supervising a thesis research.

March 2015

My friends and I bought a gift in India for our friends who lived in Copenhagen as they had just had a baby. So we picked a weekend in March and went to Copenhagen (to give them the present :D). While there, I also met Kutubuku for a nice lunch in the city.

Copenhagen
Copenhagen
Copenhagen
Copenhagen

A week later, I had to go on a business trip to: Japan! I was extremely excited when this opportunity came up because Japan was one country in my bucket list as well. My parents and brother joined me in Japan as well after the conference finished. I spent the rest of March in Tokyo, staying for twelve days there.

The Chiba Castle in Chiba
The Chiba Castle
Hanami in Tokyo
Hanami in Tokyo
It was snowing in Mt. Fuji
Snowing in Mt. Fuji
Odaiba as seen from the second observation deck of Tokyo Tower
Odaiba

April 2015

I spent the first week of April travelling around in Japan where we went to the region of Hokkaido and Kansai. It was such a nice trip because it was during spring and we could enjoy the sakura season🙂 .

Hakodate with its geographically unique location. The city faces two sides of sea
Hakodate
Enjoying tea at a traditional Japanese house
Japanese tea
A busy street in Gion
Gion
The Osaka Castle
The Osaka Castle

The rest of April was just normal days at work though. I also started to get annoyed in trying to finish a paper I had been working on for so long😛 . My (ex)-housemates and I also got a not so nice news this month where our apartment rental would not be renewed so we would have to find a new place to live the coming summer.

May 2015

This year, May was the month of long weekends where three of the weekends during the month were long weekends, lol😆 . But I realized this kinda late so I could only arrange a weekend trip on one of them, where I went to Oslo, Norway. It was the second time I went to Norway in my life.

The city hall (Radhus) of Oslo
The city hall of Oslo
Viltgryte
Viltgryte in Oslo

A good news came at the end of the month where I finally found a nice new apartment in the city centre. However, my (ex)-housemates and I decided to go on our own ways regarding our new places to live due to the different preferences that we had.

June 2015

I had a women’s singles  final French Open ticket this year so naturally I went to Paris in the first weekend of June. I was also very lucky because my favorite player, Serena Williams, made the final and was going for her 20th grandslam singles title. She was playing against Lucie Safarova in the final and after battling a tough match (mentally), Serena won the match!

Serena Williams expressing her emotiong after winning the title
Serena Williams won her 20th grandslam singles title this year
Ivan Dodig/Marcelo Melo
Ivan Dodig/Marcelo Melo on their way to their first grandslam title

The next weekend, I made an impromptu weekend trip to London. London was, well, London. I just f*cking love this city🙂 .

London and the Thames
London and the Thames
Velociraptors at Waterloo Station
Velociraptors at Waterloo

July 2015

I started July with being extremely lucky where, somehow, I got a ticket for the ladies’ singles final of Wimbledon this year. Moreover, I got this ticket after knowing that my favorite player, Serena Williams, made another grandslam final this year. So I went on a weekend trip to London again, for the second time within a month.

Serena Williams hitting a forehand
Serena Williams on her way to her 21st grandslam singles title
Martina Hingis and Sania Mirza won the very tight final match for the title!
Martina Hingis and Sania Mirza won their first grandslam title together!

Serena played Garbine Muguruza in that final and won in straight sets. It was her 21st grandslam singles title and, more impressively, her second “Serena Slam”!! It was extremely honorable for me to witness such a historical achievement by one of the best tennis legends in history!

Another theme of this month was moving to my new apartment in the city centre. My contract with my old apartment would end at the end of July and I deliberately started my new contract at the beginning of July so I had a lot of time to move my stuffs.

On board Garuda Indonesia's Boeing 777-300ER PK-GIG
On board Garuda Indonesia’s Boeing 777-300ER PK-GIG to Indonesia

At the end of July, I went back to Indonesia for a one month summer vacation. Just like last year, I took Garuda Indonesia’s nonstop Amsterdam – Jakarta GA89 flight😀 .

August 2015

I spent most of August in Southeast Asia. First, I went to Bandung to go to my brother’s graduation ceremony. Then, some friends and I went on a ten-day trip to Malaysia (Kuala Lumpur, Langkawi, and Johor Bahru) and Singapore. While in Singapore, I also got the chance to meet Jenita as well.

Lembang Floating Market
Floating Market
Petronas Twin Towers in Kuala Lumpur
Petronas Towers
A lake in Dayang Bunting island, Langkawi
Langkawi
Finally taking this picture at Gardens By The Bay
Gardens By The Bay

This month was such a nice summer break for me this year.

September 2015

A good friend of mine got a Master’s scholarship to study in Scotland. So in September I decided to pay him for a visit with a weekend trip. Moreover, he studied in Aberdeen and I had never been to this city before so it was perfect! Flying there turned out to be my first time ever in my life flying in the month of September! Haha😆 #randomtrivia

The University of Aberdeen
The University of Aberdeen
Selfie at the Dunnottar Castle
Selfie at the Dunnottar Castle

I was very lucky that weekend where the weather was extremely good. On Saturday we went to the small village of Stonehaven south of Aberdeen. The village was very pretty especially under the good Scottish weather.

October 2015

The biggest theme of the month was my Fall trip back to India. Two of my friends got enganged in Taj Mahal earlier in January and they would get married this October. So my friends and I went back to India, but this time for a different reason: for the festive Indian wedding celebration! It was extremely interesting being able to experience the real South Indian wedding. It was definitely very different from other weddings which I had been to (which is not that much actually😛 ).

A street in Chennai
A street in Chennai
The Shore Temple
The Shore Temple
Mehndi Ceremony
Mehndi Ceremony
The Sangameswarar Temple
Sangameswarar

In the trip, we also decided to spend three days in the capital city of Tamil Nadu, Chennai. Also, on our way back to Europe, we were very lucky that we got upgraded to premium economy on our 9 hour flight from Mumbai to Paris with Air France.

November 2015

November was all about work. But at the end of the month, I decided to make use of my still valid UK visa to visit a new country: Northern Ireland. I went on a weekend trip to Belfast and on my full day there, I decided to take a Game of Thrones day tour, even though I had never watched the show before, haha😆 . If I was lucky in Aberdeen, this time I was not as lucky with the weather. It was horrible the entire weekend, where it just kept on raining all the time. But it was still a wonderful trip and the view was actually very beautiful, despite the weather.

A Christmas market in Belfast
A Christmas market in Belfast
Caves in Cushendun
A beach and a cave in Cushendun

December 2015

December, the last month of the year. Again, the theme of this month was pretty much hard work where I tried to finish as much as possible before the end of the year. But of course there were a lot of Christmas celebrations everywhere, from the Lichtjesavond in Delft and our department’s annual Christmas dinner.

And at the moment I am still enjoying my end of the year holiday in North America.😀

***

Yeah, that was a summary of my amazing and unbelieavable 2015!! Let 2016 be an even better and blessful year!!🙂

BAHASA INDONESIA

Oke, entah bagaimana satu tahun 2015 sudah nyaris habis ya. Ya, habis begitu saja dan sekarang kita sudah berada di penghujung tahun! Waktu kok berlalunya cepet banget ya!! Ngomong-ngomong, seperti di tahun 2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, dan 2014, sekarang aku ingin merekap tahun ini dalam satu posting, me-review satu tahunku ini…

Tetapi pertama-tama, sebelum membahas bulan per bulan seperti biasanya, ingin kusebutkan bahwa ada satu hal yang jelas mencolok banget dari tahun ini: frekuensi jalan-jalanku! Haha😆 . Aku yakin sih banyak pembaca blog ini yang tidak kaget dengan melihat jumlah posting yang berkaitan dengannya tahun ini! Tidak seperti tahun-tahun sebelumnya, tahun ini pada dasarnya aku jalan-jalan terus deh setiap bulan, entah itu untuk perjalanan akhir pekan singkat atau perjalanan antar-benua yang lebih panjang.

Tentu ini adalah sesuatu yang aku syukuri dimana aku memiliki kesempatan untuk melakukannya; dan ini semua adalah berkat jatah cuti yang meman banyak aku miliki dari pekerjaanku (dan tahun ini adalah tahun pertama dimana aku menggunakan hampir semuanya😛 ).

Anyway, mari kita mulai saja…

***

Januari 2015

Tahun ini aku mulai dengan party malam tahun baru di pantai terkenal, Goa, di India😛 . Teman-temanku dan aku kemudian berjalan-jalan sepanjang sembilan hari lagi di India bulan ini, termasuk kunjungan ke Taj Mahal yang megah itu. India benar-benar sebuah tempat tujuan jalan-jalan yang unik deh, perjalanan ini benar-benar membukakan mataku.

And obviously, we went to the Taj Mahal in Agra, Uttar Pradesh
Taj Mahal di Agra, Uttar Pradesh
The Humayun's Tomb in Delhi
Makam Humayun di Old Delhi

Sisa bulan ini berlangsung biasa saja. Aku mendapatkan konfirmasi bahwa paper-ku diterima untuk sebuah konferensi, sehingga perjalanan musim semiku di bulan Maret terkonfirmasi deh (dan aku tidak harus membayar sendiri tiket pesawat maupun pengeluaran disana sepanjang konferensinya :P). Secara umum sih bulan ini adalah bulan kerja biasa di Januari.

Februari2015

Di akhir pekan pertama Februari, aku pergi dalam sebuah perjalanan akhir pekan ke Napoli, Italia dimana aku berkesempatan untuk mengunjungi sebuah tempat di dalam bucket list tempat yang ingin aku kunjungi: kota kuno Pompeii. Satu pengalaman berkesan dari perjalanan ini adalah aku ketinggalan penerbangan lanjutanku ke Napoli dari Paris (karena penerbangan pertamaku dari Amsterdam telat akibat harus di-deice dulu akibat malam yang dingin (pengalaman pertama juga ini)). Sebagai akibatnya, bukannya terbang Amsterdam – Paris – Napoli, aku malah jadi terbang Amsterdam – Paris – Roma – Napoli. Yaa, nggak komplain juga sih😛 .

The original pizza margherita
Pizza margherita yang asli
A Roman theatre in Pompeii
Teater Roman Pompeii

Satu hal yang berkaitan dengan pekerjaanku yang cukup berkesan dari bulan ini adalah seorang mahasiswa S2 yang mana riset thesis S2nya aku bimbing lulus loh. Ini adalah kali pertama aku membimbing seorang mahasiswa dalam sebuah riset thesis.

Maret 2015

Teman-temanku dan aku membelikan sebuah hadiah dari India untuk teman kami yang tinggal di Kopenhagen yang baru saja melahirkan seorang bayi perempuan. Jadilah kami memilih sebuah akhir pekan di bulan Maret dan pergi ke Kopenhagen (dengan alasan untuk menyerahkan hadiahnya bersama-sama). Ketika disana, aku juga kopdaran dengan Kutubuku dengan sebuah makan siang di kotanya.

A kopdar in Copenhagen!
Kopdaran di Kopenhagen!
A green house for people in Copenhagen
Rumah kaca di Kopenhagen

Seminggu kemudian, aku harus pergi dalam urusan pekerjaan ke: Jepang! Aku sangat amat excited ketika mendapatkan kesempatan ini karena Jepang adalah sebuah negara yang memang ingin sekali aku kunjungi! Orangtua dan adikku juga menyusulku di Jepang setelah konferensi selesai. Sisa bulan ini aku habiskan di Tokyo, dimana aku menghabiskan dua belas hari disana.

My first ever sushi I had in Japan
Sushi di Jepang
Spring in Tokyo
Musim semi Tokyo
Fujiyama
Fujiyama
Sensoji Temple
Kuil Sensoji

April 2015

Minggu pertama bulan April aku habiskan dengan berkeliling Jepang dimana aku pergi ke daeah Hokkaido dan Kansai. Ini adalah sebuah perjalanan yang seru banget karena berlangsung di musim semi sehingga kami bisa menikmati musim sakuranya🙂 .

It was coffee time in Hakodate!!
Ngopi dulu di Hakodate
Otaru
Kota Otaru, Hokkaido
The famous Fushimi Inari-taisha temple in Kyoto
Fushimi Inari-taisha
Osaka as senn from the Umeda Sky Building
Kota Osaka di malam hari

Sisa bulan April adalah bulan biasa yang penuh dengan kerjaan. Aku juga mulai merasa sebal dimana aku ingin sekali untuk segera menyelesaikan sebuah paper yang sudah lama banget aku kerjakan😛 . Juga, aku dan housemates-ku (waktu itu) mendapatkan kabar kurang menyenangkan dimana kontrak apartemen kami tidak bisa diperpanjang sehingga kami harus pindahan musim panas nantinya.

Mei 2015

Tahun ini, Mei adalah bulan penuh dengan long weekend dimana tiga weekend di bulan ini adalah long weekend loh, haha😆 . Tetapi aku baru menyadarinya telat sehingga aku hanya bisa merencanakan satu perjalanan akhir pekan aja memanfaatkan long weekend ini, dimana aku pergi ke Oslo, Norwegia. Ini adalah kali kedua aku pergi ke Norwegia.

Oslo
Oslo
A medium-rare Jack Daniel's steak
Steak Jack Daniel’s

Berita baik juga aku dapatkan di akhir bulan ini dimana aku menemukan apartemen baru yang oke di pusat kota. Namun, aku dan (mantan) housemates-ku memutuskan untuk mencari tempat tinggal baru sendiri-sendiri karena perbedaan preferensi yang kami punya.

Juni 2015

Aku memiliki tiket final tunggal putri French Open tahun ini jadi jelas aku pergi ke Paris di akhir pekan pertama bulan Juni. Beruntung sekali petenis favoritku, Serena Williams, masuk final dan berkesempatan memenangi gelar tunggal grandslam ke-20nya. Ia melawan Lucie Safarova dan setelah melawan sebuah pertandingan (mental) yang sulit, Serena menang!

Serena Williams and Le Coupe Suzanne Lenglen
Serena Williams juara
Marcelo Melo hitting a smash
Marcelo Melo memukul smash

Akhir pekan selanjutnya, aku pergi dalam perjalanan akhir pekan dadakan ke London. London adalah, yah, London. Aku suka banget kota ini🙂 .

The Tower of London
The Tower of London
The view from my hostel room in Paddington
Paddington di London

Juli 2015

Juli aku mulai dengan amat beruntung dimana aku bisa mendapatkan tiket final tunggal putri Wimbledon tahun ini. Ditambah lagi, tiketnya aku dapatkan setelah tahu bahwa pemain favoritku, Serena Williams, masuk final grandslam lagi tahun ini. Jadilah aku pergi dalam sebuah perjalanan akhir pekan ke London lagi, untuk kedua kalinya dalam rentang waktu satu bulan.

Game, set, and match, Miss Serena Williams
Game, set, and match, Miss Serena Williams
Jean-Julien Rojer and Horia Tecau won!
Jean-Julien Rojer and Horia Tecau menang!

Serena melawan Garbine Muguruza di final itu dan menang straight sets. Ini adalah gelar tunggal grandslam ke-21nya dan, yang lebih impresif lagi, “Serena Slam” keduanya!! Adalah sebuah kehormatan bagiku bisa menjadi saksi sebuah pencapaian bersejarah ini oleh salah satu legenda tenis terhebat di sejarah!

Selain itu, temaku sepanjang bulan ini adalah pindahan ke apartemen baruku di pusat kota. Kontrak apartemen lamaku berakhir di akhir Juli dan sengaja kontrak apartemen baru aku mulai di awal bulan Juli agar aku memiliki banyak waktu untuk memindahkan barang-barangku.

A Garuda Indonesia's Boeing 777-300ER reg PK-GIG which brought me to Jakarta as flight GA 89
A Garuda Indonesia’s Boeing 777-300ER reg PK-GIG

Di akhir bulan Juli, aku pergi ke Indonesia dalam angka liburan musim panas selama satu bulan. Seperti tahun lalu, aku menaiki penerbangan nonstopnya Garuda Indonesia GA89 dari Amsterdam ke Jakata😀 .

Agustus 2015

Sebagian besar bulan Agustus aku habiskan di Asia Tenggara. Pertama-tama, aku pergi ke Bandung untuk mengunjungi wisudanya adikku. Kemudian, aku dan beberapa teman lamaku jalan-jalan selama sepuluhan hari ke Malaysia (Kuala Lumpur, Langkawi, dan Johor Bahru) dan Singapura. Ketika di Singapura, aku juga berkesempatan untuk kopdaran dengan Jenita.

Dusun Bambu
Dusun Bambu di Bandung
Masjid Jamek in Kuala Lumpur
Masjid Jamek di Kuala Lumpur
Pantai Pasir Tengkorak and the Tarutau Island of Thailand
Pantai Pasir Tengkorak
Kopdar in Singapore. Photo belonged to Jenita
Kopdar di Singapura

Bulan ini adalah liburan musim panas yang memang aku butuhkan deh tahun ini.

September 2015

Seorang teman baikku mendapatkan beasiswa S2 untuk belajar di Skotlandia. Jadilah di bulan September aku memutuskan untuk mengunjunginya dalam sebuah perjalanan akhir pekan. Di samping itu, ia belajar di Aberdeen, sebuah kota yang belum pernah aku kunjungi sebelumnya, sehingga semuanya pas dong ya! Terbang kesana ternyata adalah untuk pertama kalinya seumur hidup aku terbang di bulan September loh! Haha😆 #randomtrivia

The Opera House of Aberdeen
Opera House di Aberdeen
The best fish and chips in the UK in 2013!
Seporsi Fish and chips di UK

Beruntung akhir pekan itu cuacanya bagus banget. Di hari Sabtu kami pergi ke sebuah desa kecil Stonehaven di selatan Aberdeen. Desa ini indah banget terutama ketika cuacanya oke gitu.

Oktober 2015

Tema terbesarku bulan ini adalah perjalanan musim semiku kembali ke India. Dua temanku bertunangan di Taj Mahal Januari ini dan mereka akan menikah di bulan Oktober. Jadilah teman-temanku dan aku kembali ke India lagi, tetapi kali ini untuk alasan yang berbeda: kondangan ala India yang meriah! Menarik banget bisa merasakan pernikahan tradisional ala India Selatan di India. Pernikahannya berbeda banget dari pernikahan-pernikahan lain yang pernah aku datangi (yaa, nggak banyak juga sih yang pernah aku datangi sebenarnya😛 ).

Chennai Central Railway Station
Stasin Chennai
The Five Rathas selfie
The Five Rathas
A proof that I also danced
Menari di India
Some stuffs
Upacara pernikahan

Di perjalanan ini, kami juga memutuskan untuk menghabiskan tiga hari di ibukota Tamil Nadu, Chennai. Oh iya, dalam penerbangan kembali kami ke Eropa, beruntung banget kami di-upgrade ke kelas ekonomi premium di penerbangan 9 jam kami kembali dari Mumbai ke Paris dengan Air France.

November 2015

November isinya dalam kerja dan kerja deh. Tetapi di akhir bulan, aku memutuskan untuk menggunakan visa UKku yang masih valid untuk mengunjungi sebuah negara baru: Irlandia Utara. Aku pergi dalam sebuah perjalanan akhir pekan ke Belfast dan di satu hari penuhku disana, aku memutuskan untuk ikutan tur Game of Thrones walaupun aku belum pernah nonton acaranya sebelumnya, haha😆 . Jika aku beruntung di Aberdeen, kali ini aku tidak seberuntung itu dalam hal cuaca. Cuacanya jelek banget sepanjang akhir pekan itu, dimana hujan terus menerus turun. Tetapi ini masih adalah perjalanan yang asyik sih dan pemandangannya keren banget, walaupun cuacanya begitu.

Titanic Quarter
Titanic Quarter Belfast
A View of the Giant's Causeway
The Giant’s Causeway

Desember 2015

Desember, bulan terakhir tahun ini. Lagi, temaku bulan ini adalah kerja dan kerja dimana aku berusaha menyelesaikan sebanyak mungkin kerjaan sebelum akhir tahun. Tetapi tentu saja ada banyak sekali perayaan yang berkaitan dengan Natal dimana-mana, misalnya Lichtjesavond di Delft dan Christmas dinner tahunan jurusanku.

Dan sekarang ini aku sedang menikmati liburan akhir tahunku di Amerika Utara😀 .

***

Ya, begitulah ringkasan tahun 2015ku yang asyik dan seru banget!! Mudah-mudahan tahun 2016 lebih baik dan penuh berkat lagi ya!!🙂

30 thoughts on “#1672 – 2015 In Review

  1. Wahhh Ko berdecak kagum aku setiap bulan selalu jalan2, berkat banget ya hehe. Sudah kopdaran sama Eva rupanya. Aku selalu senang membaca ringkasan begini diakhir tahun. Soalnya aku juga suka bikin (kalo sempet haha). Semoga tahun depan sehat selalu ya Ko supaya tetap jalan2 juga.

  2. Wah setiap bulan pasti ada travelingnya, mantap Kak. Saya juga jadi ingat postingan-postingan yang sudah saya baca di blog ini terkait beberapa perjalanan di sini :haha. Mudah-mudahan tahun 2016 bisa jadi lebih baik dari tahun ini ya, baik dari segi travelingnya, karir, dan pendidikan :)). Sukses selalu!

Leave a Reply

