Posted in Conference Trip, EuroTrip, Travelling, Vacation, Weekend Trip

#1374 – Weekend in Marseille

ENGLISH

The conference in Ajaccio ended on Friday and I told you that I was leaving Corsica on Saturday morning. But actually by leaving I did not mean to go directly back to the Netherlands; in fact, actually I was staying overnight in Marseille for a weekend trip, lol😆. Well, obviously this part of the trip was not part of the business trip so, aside from the flight😀 , everything was at my expense; which was still fine anyway😀 .

Without further ado, let me start the story right away (p.s: there will be lots and lots of pictures here!)

Saturday, 12 April 2014

After getting up and having my breakfast at the hotel, I checked out and took a taxi to go to the airport. My flight to Marseille was scheduled to depart at 10:50. Long story short, the flight, an Air Corsica’s XK 152 operated with an Airbus A320-211 reg F-GHQE, departed on time. At around 11:00, it took off from runway 20 of Ajaccio Napoleon Bonaparte Airport.

The flight route map from Ajaccio (AJA) to Marseille (MRS)
The flight route map from Ajaccio (AJA) to Marseille (MRS)

It was such a short flight that about half an hour later, we landed safely at runway 31R of Marseille Provence Airport. Here is the landing video:

After taking my luggage, I took the shuttle bus service to go to the city centre of Marseille. It was already almost 13:00 when I checked in at my hotel, and so I was in a hurry. Why? Well, before leaving, I did a small survey to go to Les Calanques with a boat tour from Marseille; and there would be one today that departed from Le Vieux Port (the Old Port) at 14:00. At this point I still did not have the ticket yet, and I had never been to Marseille so, even though I had a map and already knew the whereabout based on it, I still did not have the first hand experience of physically going to Le Vieux Port yet. And I only had literally less than one hour to go.

I arrived at Le Vieux Port, and just as my luck led me (note: sarcastic mode here), there was a carnival going on there today! The carnival just made it even harder to find the ticket booth for the boat tour! Haha😆 . But long story short, I found it just in time and bought my ticket. Yay!😀 It was 13:40 already and so I literally did not have the time to have lunch. But whatever, I got my boat trip so I was okay.

At 13:45, we boarded the boat and at 14:00, the tour started. I won’t say anything more about this boat trip from now on, just some many pictures of it as people say a picture worths a thousand words, except that it was SUPER beautiful that it worthed skipping my lunch!! If you happen to visit Marseille, visiting Les Calanques is definitely a MUST!!

The boat tour that I took (the grande one) lasted 3 hour and 15 minutes so we arrived back at Le Vieux Port at around 17:15. I went back to my hotel to rest for a little bit before deciding to go back to Le Vieux Port to have dinner.

I chose a three course menu set from a restaurant for €30. The appetizer was Soupe de Poisson (fish soup) and the main course was entrecote. For dessert, from the list I saw a menu with a long name (I don’t remember the entire name though😦 ) and I only knew the word “pomme” in it, which means “apple”. But I did not know what they did with the apple so I asked the waiter what that was. And he told me it was an apple and they put it in the oven. I wasn’t buying it at first but decided to give it a try, haha😆 .

The Soupe de Poisson was very good, and very large! I think it was a bit too big though as basically I already felt full when finishing it, while I still had my entrecote and apple dessert coming, haha😆 . The entrecote was okay generally, nothing too special though. And the dessert was very good! I mean, it was definitely something that was out of my spectrum and thus surprised me!😀

I was feeling too full after that, haha, so I decided to walk around a little bit before taking the metro to go back to my hotel.

Sunday, 13 April 2014

After getting up and showering, I immediately checked out from my hotel at around 10:30. Because my flight back to Amsterdam was scheduled at 18:00, I still had half a day to spend in Marseille and so I left my luggage at the hotel and went to Le Vieux Port again.

Fort Saint Jean
Fort Saint Jean

At Le Vieux Port, I walked towards the right side of the port looking for a place for brunch. I kept scanning the restaurants until I actually reached the Fort Saint Jean at the end of the port, haha😆 . Okay, I was there so probably it would be better if I paid a visit too (since it was free anyway to get in). It was indeed a very nice fort!

After that and the lunch I had a nearby restaurant, I walked to the ferry ticket booth to buy my return ticket to Chateau D’If; an old fortress (it used to be a jail though) located at a small island near Marseille. I was particularly very excited to go there because this fortress was the setting of the classic literature: The Count of Monte Cristo. I read this novel (in English btw) when I was a kid so it was quite a surreal feeling that I would actually go there.

Chateau D'If as seen from the sky
Chateau D’If as seen from the sky

But there was one problem: it was almost 13:00 already and there was only one return schedule that would permit me to still make it to the airport for my flight with a comfortable (read: no need to rush) margin. But with this, I only had like literally 35 minutes in the island. Fine, I could make it if I was efficient, I thought.

Long story short, I boarded the ferry that left at 13:15. The journey to Chateau D’If took 20 minutes. Upon landing, I immediately walked towards the door so I could be one of the first people to disembark the boat. It was such a wise decision because I was one of the first to arrive at Chateau D’If’s ticket booth so I did not need to queue (after some minutes, there was a long line formed in the booth).

I went around the small island and the fortress, took some quick snaps, before heading back to the port to wait for my ferry back to Marseille. The ferry left Chateau D’If at 14:05 and arrived at Le Vieux Port at 14:50. Then I took the metro back to my hotel, took my luggage, and went to the train station to take the shuttle bus to go to the airport.

At the airport, it was the usual stuff. At 17:30, I boarded my plane back to Amsterdam: an Air France’s Airbus A319-111 reg F-GRHQ flight AF 4364. It departed on time, as at 18:00 it took off from runway 31R of Marseille Provence Airport. Here is the actual flight path of this flight from Marseille Provence Airport to Amsterdam Schiphol Airport today:

The actual flight path of my AF 4364 flight from MRS to AMS on 13 April 2014. Source: http://nl.flightaware.com/live/flight/AFR4364. Accessed on 13 April 2014, 23:14 CET.
The actual flight path of my AF 4364 flight from MRS to AMS on 13 April 2014. Source: http://nl.flightaware.com/live/flight/AFR4364/history/20140413/1600Z/LFML/EHAM. Accessed on 13 April 2014, 23:14 CET.

At 20:00, we landed smoothly at runway 27 of Amsterdam Schiphol Airport. Here is the landing video:

Then, it was the usual stuffs. I took my luggage then took the train to go back to Delft. Here, my one week trip to Corsica and Marseille officially ended.

BAHASA INDONESIA

Konferensi di Ajaccio berakhir di hari Jumat dan sudah aku ceritakan bahwa aku meninggalkan Korsika di hari Sabtu paginya. Nah, yang aku maksud dengan meninggalkan itu bukannya langsung pulang ke Belanda sih; tetapi sebenarnya adalah mampir semalam di Marseille untuk acara jalan-jalan di akhir pekan, huahaha😆 . Eh, tentu saja bagian perjalanan ini nggak termasuk perjalanan untuk urusan kerjaan jadi, kecuali tiket pesawatnya😀, semuanya ya aku bayar sendiri; yang mana masih oke-oke aja sih ya😀 .

Nah, mari ceritanya kita mulai aja (btw, bakal ada banyak foto loh di posting ini!)

Sabtu, 12 April 2014

Setelah bangun dan sarapan di hotel, aku check-out dan naik taksi untuk pergi ke bandara. Penerbanganku ke Marseille dijadwalkan berangkat jam 10:50. Singkat cerita, penerbanganku, Air Corsica XK 152 yang dioperasikan dengan pesawat Airbus A320-211 kode registrasi F-GHQE, berangkat tepat waktu. Sekitar jam 11:00, kami lepas landas dari landasan pacu 20 Bandara Ajaccio Napoleon Bonaparte.

The flight route map from Ajaccio (AJA) to Marseille (MRS)
Peta rute penerbangan dari Ajaccio (AJA) ke Marseille (MRS)

Ini adalah penerbangan pendek dimana sekitar setengah jam kemudian, kami mendarat di landasan pacu 31R Bandara Marseille Provence. Berikut ini video pendaratannya:

Setelah mengambil bagasiku, aku menaiki layanan shuttle bus untuk pergi ke pusat kota Marseille. Waktu sudah menunjukkan hampir jam 1 siang ketika aku check-in di hotelku, sehingga aku agak terburu-buru. Mengapa? Jadi, sebelum berangkat, aku sudah survey sedikit untuk pergi ke Les Calanques dengan tur dengan kapal yang berangkat dari Le Vieux Port (Pelabuhan Tua) yang berangkat jam 2 siang. Sampai pada waktu ini aku belum memiliki tiketnya, dan aku kan belum pernah ke Marseille sebelumnya ya, jadi walaupun aku punya peta dan sudah mempelajari situasi lokasinya dari peta itu, tetap aja aku masih belum memiliki pengalaman langsung pergi ke Le Vieux Port-nya. Dan aku hanya memiliki waktu kurang dari satu jam untuk itu.

Aku sampai di Le Vieux Port, dan dengan keberuntunganku (sarkastik ini ya), saat itu sedang ada karnaval dong! Nah, karnavalnya membuat proses pencarian loket tiketnya menjadi lebih susah kan! Haha😆 . Tapi singkat cerita, aku masih sempat mendapatkan tiket tur dengan kapalnya dan membeli tiketku. Hore!😀 Waktu sudah menunjukkan sekitar jam 13:40 jadi aku benar-benar nggak sempat untuk makan siang deh. Ah, nggak papa sih, aku mendapatkan tur kapalku jadi aku oke-oke aja.

Jam 13:45, kami menaiki kapalnya dan jam 14:00, turnya dimulai. Aku nggak akan menulis lebih jauh mengenai tur dengan kapal ini, hanya banyak foto-foto aja deh karena katanya kan satu foto setara dengan seribu kata, hanya saja Les Calanques ini SANGAT indah sekali dan setimpal deh dengan keputusanku untuk nggak makan siang!! Kalau ke Marseille, mengunjungi Les Calanques ini HARUS banget deh!!

Tur kapalnya (aku mengambil yang paket grande) memakan waktu sekitar 3 jam 15 menit jadi kami kembali di Le Vieux Port sekitar jam 5:15 sore. Aku kemudian kembali ke hotelku untuk istirahat sebentar sebelum kembali ke Le Vieux Port lagi untuk makan malam.

Untuk makan malam aku memilih menu three course dari sebuah restoran seharga €30. Makanan pembukanya adalah Soupe de Poisson (sup ikan) dan menu utamanya adalah entrecote. Untuk makanan penutup, dari daftar yang aku lihat aku melihat sebuah menu yang namanya panjang (lupa namanya apa euy dalam bahasa Prancis) dimana aku cuma mengenali satu kata aja, pomme (yang artinya buah apel). Tapi aku kan nggak tahu ya apelnya diapain jadilah aku bertanya ke pelayannya ini apa. Dan ia menjelaskan bahwa untuk makanan penutup ini buah apelnya dioven. Heh? Terdengar aneh banget kan ya? Tapi aku putuskan untuk mencobanya deh, haha😆 .

Soupe de Poisson-nya enak banget loh, dan gede banget! Sampai-sampai aku sudah kenyang loh ketika menyelesaikannya, padahal masih ada menu utama dan makanan penutup yang belum datang, haha😆 . Entrecote-nya oke lah secara umum, tidak terlalu spesial sih. Dan makanan penutupnya enak banget ternyata! Benar-benar sesuatu di luar perkiraanku lho jadi benar-benar mengejutkan deh!😀

Aku merasa kekenyangan banget setelahnya, haha, jadi aku berjalan kaki sedikit dulu deh sebelum naik metro untuk kembali ke hotel.

Minggu, 13 April 2014

Setelah bangun dan mandi, aku langsung check out dari hotel sekitar jam 10:30. Karena penerbanganku ke Amsterdam dijadwalkan jam 18:00, aku masih memiliki setengah hari di Marseille jadi aku meninggalkan bagasiku di hotel dan pergi ke Le Vieux Port lagi.

Fort Saint Jean
Fort Saint Jean

Di Le Vieux Port, aku berjalan ke sisi kanan pelabuhannya untuk mencari tempat makan brunch. Karena aku cuma melihat-lihat restorannya doang jadilah tiba-tiba aku sudah sampai di ujung pelabuhannya di Fort Saint Jean, haha😆 . Karena udah disana ya udah deh aku sekalian mampir aja (toh masuknya kan gratis). Dan ternyata ini adalah benteng yang keren juga!

Setelah aku makan siang di sebuah restoran di dekat sana, aku pergi ke loket tiket untuk membeli tiket pp ke Chateau D’If; sebuah benteng tua (dulu dipakai sebagai penjara) di sebuah pulau kecil di dekat Marseille. Aku sangat bersemangat untuk pergi kesana karena benteng ini adalah salah satu setting-nya sebuah karya literatur klasik: The Count of Monte Cristo. Aku membaca novel ini (dalam bahasa Inggris) ketika masih kecil jadi rasanya nggak percaya gitu kalau aku berkesempatan untuk berkunjung kesana.

Chateau D'If as seen from the sky
Chateau D’If as seen from the sky

Tetapi ada satu masalah: sudah hampir jam 1 siang dan hanya ada 1 jadwal pp aja yang akan memungkinkan aku untuk pergi ke bandara tanpa harus terburu-buru. Tetapi dengan jadwal ini, aku hanya memiliki waktu 35an menit saja di pulaunya. Ya sudah deh, aku kira kalau aku efisien cukup lah waktu segini.

Singkat cerita, aku menaiki kapal ferry-ku yang berangkat jam 13:15. Perjalanan ke Chateau D’If memakan waktu 20 menit. Begitu mendarat, aku langsung berjalan ke pintu kapalnya supaya menjadi salah seorang yang keluar duluan. Ini adalah keputusan yang bijak karena artinya aku adalah salah satu yang pertama untuk tiba di loket tiket di Chateau D’If sehingga aku nggak perlu ngantri (setelah beberapa menit, langsung terbentuk antrian panjang dong di loketnya).

Aku mengelilingi pulau kecil dan benteng ini, mengambil beberapa foto cepat, sebelum berjalan kembali ke bentengnya untuk menunggu kapal ferry kembali ke Marseille. Kapal ferry-nya meninggalkan Chateau D’If sekitar jam 14:05 dan tiba di Le Vieux Port sekitar jam 14:50. Aku langsung menaiki metro untuk kembali ke hotel, mengambil bagasiku, pergi ke stasiun kereta untuk naik shuttle bus ke bandara.

Di bandara ya begitu aja sih. Jam 5:30 sore, aku menaiki pesawatku untuk kembali ke Amsterdam: sebuah Airbus A319-111 milik Air France dengan kode registrasi F-GRHQ dengan nomor penerbangan AF 4364. Penerbangan ini berangkat tepat waktu, dimana jam 6 sore kami lepas landas dari landasan pacu 31R Bandara Marseille Provence. Berikut ini peta flight path sebenarnya dari penerbanganku kemarin:

The actual flight path of my AF 4364 flight from MRS to AMS on 13 April 2014. Source: http://nl.flightaware.com/live/flight/AFR4364. Accessed on 13 April 2014, 23:14 CET.
Flight path sebenarnya dari penerbangan AF 4364-ku dari MRS ke AMS tanggal 13 April 2014. Sumber: http://nl.flightaware.com/live/flight/AFR4364/history/20140413/1600Z/LFML/EHAM. Diakses pada13 April 2014, 23:14 CET.

Jam 8 malam, kami mendarat dengan mulus di landasan pacu 27 Bandara Amsterdam Schiphol. Berikut ini video pendaratannya:

Selanjutnya ya seperti biasa deh. Aku mengambil bagasiku lalu naik kereta untuk kembali ke Delft. Disini, acara perjalanan satu mingguku ke Korsika dan Marseille berakhir.

12 thoughts on “#1374 – Weekend in Marseille

  1. Wah mantep tu langitnya ko padahal tapi waktu landing awanya gelap bener ternyata pas sampai tujuan cerah langitnya . aku suka batu batu yang ada Les Calanques cantik ya….

    1. Iya, view-nya Les Calanques bagus-bagus banget memang! Kalau ke Marseille memang mesti dimampirin deh! Hehehe😀 .

      Yoi, entrecote itu steak sapi😀 . Tapi sebenarnya namanya kayaknya merujuk ke nama potongan dagingnya sih. Tapi biasanya sih dimasak sebagai steak gitu, hehe

Leave a Reply

