Posted in Contemplation, The Past, Thoughts, Zilko's Life

#1329 – 2013 in Review

ENGLISH

Here we are again, already standing in the end of 2013. Time really flies as suddenly another year has passed! Well, so now I am taking a moment to look back at how my life has been in this year of 2013; just like in 2011 and 2012. And here is the year of 2013 in review…

January 2013

I started the year with flying from Rome to Madrid (Trust me, I have been wanting to write this exact sentence for this exact post since the first day of 2013!๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜› ) as I was still in the middle of my 2012 year-end trip to Paris, Rome, Madrid, and Barcelona with my brother who was having a one month vacation in Europe at that time. It was such a nice vacation, and the first time ever I visited Spain. Barcelona was impressive, moreso with their very warm winter! I went back to the Netherlands mid-January; and it was actually snowing here at that time! So imagine the contrast that I felt!๐Ÿ˜†

Monumento a Alfonso XII at Parque del Retiro
Monumento a Alfonso XII at Parque del Retiro
Estadio Santiago Bernabeu
Estadio Santiago Bernabeu, the home of Real Madrid
The ceiling of Sagrada Familia
The ceiling of Sagrada Familia
Barceloneta
Barceloneta Beach in Barcelona

My brother went back to Indonesia mid-January, and my life went back to the normal busy PhD life with a few courses or seminars here and there; with an exam that I had to do in the end of January.

February 2013

Just like the year before, I was staying in Delft only for the entire February. But like in 2012, it was quite an important month for my summer plan. This month, I decided to buy the weekend pass for Roland Garros (the French Open) tournament this year mid-February; and also my paper was accepted to be presented in a conference in June. I also tried to be a vegetarian for one week this month. And this experiment made me realize how difficult it was to be a vegetarian!!๐Ÿ˜ฏ

Sauted Egg, Tomato, Champignon, and Onion
Sauted Egg, Tomato, Champignon, and Onion

March 2013

March was another okay month for me; as not much, aside from working, was happening in my life. The weather was still quite cool but it was not freezing anymore.

April 2013

The Boy band performing
The Boy band performing

The first half of April was basically like my March; my life was revolving around work. Well, now it makes me realize that I probably should make a plan or something in March/early April to make my life more interesting! Hahaha๐Ÿ˜† . In the end of April, I went to Den Haag to celebrate the Koninginnenachtย (The Queen’s Night) in Den Haag. It was the first time ever I celebrated the Koninginnenacht in the Netherlands (I had been to the Koninginnedag in Amsterdam in 2011). Speaking of which, it would be the last Konginnenacht (or Koninginnedag) since Queen Beatrix decided to retire this year, and her successor was King Willem -Alexander. So starting in 2014, this holiday will not be known as the Koninginnedag (Queen’s Day) anymore, but the Koningsdag (King’s Day).

May 2013

May was a busier month for me because I started my apartment-hunting this month. My contract with my then apartment would end in the end of July and I would not be able to extend my contract. In the end, I am really glad that my roommate and I found this nice apartment (the decision was finalized in June though). May was also the month of long weekends, as three of the four consecutive weekends I had was a long weekend!๐Ÿ˜ฏ I decided to buy a new bicycle in May too; and there was a small reunion party with my Masters friends in Delft in mid-May.

Rafael Nadal won another match at Roland Garros
Rafael Nadal won another match at Roland Garros
Maria Sharapova chasing down a ball
Maria Sharapova chasing down a ball at Roland Garros
The full Le Court Philippe Chatrier during the Simon - Federer match
The full Le Court Philippe Chatrier during the Simon – Federer match

May ended with a blast for me, as I went to Paris to watch the French Open for the second time in a row. This time, I went on the middle weekend so I got the fourth round matches of the tournaments. And I got the Philippe Chatrier seat, the main court of the tournament. In the two days of my visit to the tournament, I gotta watch the matches of Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer, Serena Williams, Victoria Azarenka, and Maria Sharapova!๐Ÿ˜ฏ

June 2013

Just like in 2012, June was a month full of travelling, huahaha๐Ÿ˜Ž . I started and ended June not in the Netherlands, and both of them were even in different countries. Mid-June, I went to London for a conference for almost one week. It was my first conference trip during my PhD years; so it was quite exciting. And a little bit intimidating as well as I was travelling there alone, not with my supervisors. But I am really glad it went really well.

One of the 16 (oral) conference rooms.
One of the 16 (oral) conference rooms.
Party at the Diplodocus Hall
Party at the Diplodocus Hall

I ended June by taking a one week off from work and I went back to: London. Well, I guess the reason was super obvious, right?๐Ÿ˜‰ Yes, I went there for the Wimbledon Championships. I went there in the first week of the tournament. I visited it three times, and I had to queue in those three times, which was very physically demanding! I did not get any of the Centre Court matches, but I still watched some big names like Serena Williams, Juan Martin del Potro, Tomas Berdych, and Richard Gasquet’s matches.

Serena Williams won her second round match.
Serena Williams won her second round match.
Bob and Mike Bryan on serve
Bob and Mike Bryan on serve at Wimbledon
At the No.1 Court
At the No.1 Court

July 2013

The main headline of my life in July was moving. My contract with my then apartment would end in the end of July while my contract with my new apartment started in early of July. This was a perfect setting as I had one month to move so I did not have to bring everything in one go. Even so, I felt that one month passed by so fast! And I went back and forth between my old and new apartments almost everyday!๐Ÿ˜† In the end of July, obviously I had to arrange the other stuffs as well, like the TV and internet connection for example.

August 2013

Het gele boek for my Intermediate Dutch course
Het gele boek for my Intermediate Dutch course

While I was so occupied in July, I realized that I should have planned something for August. Everyone was on their summer vacation in August and I was there working in my office, basically alone. But August was also quite important because I set myself to be super busy in the upcoming two months on this month. I enrolled myself in a Dutch course for the upcoming period and I was assigned as the student-assistant of a course in the upcoming semester as well.

September 2013

With the new semester started, suddenly my working life became extremely busy with versatile things to get done. I had to do my main research (obviously), teaching-related stuffs, and also the Dutch course. Juggling all these three things, and also other things in my personal life as well, obviously, were a lot! In the end of September, I had my big Go/No Go meeting and thankfully the meeting ended up with a “Go”, which meant my PhD research was going fine.

October 2013

October went pretty much similarly with September, except that a paper deadline was approaching so it was even more crazy! Hahaha๐Ÿ˜† . What motivated me the most was that a big trip that I would embark on at the end of the month. And in the end I am fascinated at how I was able to go through it all and finished everything on time. Btw, the trip was obviously the one month Asia trip where after three years and two months, finally I was going back to Indonesia for a vacation๐Ÿ™‚ . And finally, for the first time ever in my life, I was flying with an Airbus A380!!๐Ÿ˜€

An Emirates' Airbus A380-800 reg code A6-EEI, a four month old A380!
An Emirates’ Airbus A380-800 reg code A6-EEI, a four month old A380!

November 2013

The main theme of November was obviously my one month Asia trip. I started November in my hometown, Yogyakarta. Then, I went to Bandung for two days, followed by visiting the islands of Belitung and Bangka with my parents and brother. After that, we continued our trip for a one week trip in South Korea with three nights of transit in Kuala Lumpur. I had about five more days in Yogyakarta before I was going back to the Netherlands.

Tanjung Kelayang beach with the Garuda island in the background
Tanjung Kelayang beach with the Garuda island in the background
Pulau Lengkuas with its lighthouse
Pulau Lengkuas with its beautiful lighthouse in the island of Belitung
Two big stones near Romodong beach
Two big stones near Romodong beach
Parai Beach
Parai Beach in the islang of Bangka

It was such a fun trip, and was so due after such a long time!! But maybe I planned a little bit too much in the trip though, as I was so physically tired after that! Hahaha๐Ÿ˜† . Well, it was super fun, obviously, but taking sixteen flights in the period of four weeks covering 39,800 km (flights only) was obviously taking its toll on the body๐Ÿ˜€ .

The most famous spot in Namiseom
The most famous spot in Namiseom
Seongsan Ilchubong
Seongsan Ilchubong in eastern Jeju
Sunset at Jusangjeolli
Sunset at Jusangjeolli in Jeju
Haedong Yonggungsa Temple
Haedong Yonggungsa Temple

December 2013

I was busy working in December, as I felt that I needed to kick myself and work harder to get faster progress on the project. And the month of December had its own unique aura where people knew the end of the year was coming so everyone was kinda in holiday mood.

To end the year, I did not want to just stay in Delft. So I decided to arrange a trip, and while my UK visa was still valid, I decided to plan a trip to the UK again. But obviously I preferred a place that I had never visited before. And so I decided to go to West England and I will end the year there.

BAHASA INDONESIA

Ah, sudah tanggal-tanggal segini lagi ya, sudah di akhir tahun 2013. Waktu berlalu benar-benar cepat ya karena satu tahun sudah nyaris berlalu lagi lho! Ya, sekarang ini aku mengambil sedikit waktu untuk kembali melihat bagaimanakah kehidupanku selama tahun 2013 ini; seperti di tahun 2011ย danย 2012. Dan inilah review tahun 2013-ku…

Januari 2013

Aku memulai tahun ini dengan terbang dari Roma menuju Madrid (Aku sudah ingin banget menulis kalimat ini untuk posting ini semenjak hari pertama tahun ini loh, beneran!๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜› ) karena aku masih berada di tengah-tengah acara liburan akhir tahun 2012ku ke Paris, Roma, Madrid, dan Barcelona bersama adikku yang waktu itu sedang berlibur selama satu bulan di Eropa. Liburannya asyik banget loh, dan waktu itu adalah kali pertama aku mengunjungi Spanyol. Barcelona beneran keren banget, apalagi dengan musim dinginnya mereka yang hangat! Aku kembali ke Belanda di pertengahan bulan; dan waktu itu lagi bersalju loh di Belanda! Jadi bayangkan bagaimana kontrasnya klimat yang aku rasakan!๐Ÿ˜†

Plaza Independencia
Plaza Independencia di Madrid
Estadio Santiago Bernabeu in Madrid, the home of Real Madrid.
Estadio Santiago Bernabeu, kandangnya Real Madrid.
Barcelona as seen from Parc Guell
Kota Barcelona seperti yang terlihat dari Parc Guell
Sagrada Familia in Barcelona
Sagrada Familia di Barcelona

Adikku kembali ke Indonesia di pertengahan Januari, dan kehidupanku kembali ke kehidupan PhD yang sibuk seperti biasa gitu deh dengan beberapa kelas dan seminar yang aku ikuti; dengan sebuah ujian yang harus aku kerjakan di akhir bulan Januari.

Februari 2013

Seperti tahun sebelumnya, aku di Delft aja di sepanjang bulan Februari. Tapi seperti tahun 2012, bulan ini lumayan penting loh dalam hal perencanaan musim panasku. Di pertengahan bulan ini, aku memutuskan untuk membeli tiket weekend pass turnamen Roland Garros (French Open); dan juga paper-ku diterima untuk dipresentasikan di sebuah konferensi di bulan Juni. Aku juga mencoba untuk menjadi vegetarian selama seminggu di bulan ini. Dan eksperimen ini membuatku menyadari bahwa menjadi seorang vegetarian itu sulit sekali!!๐Ÿ˜ฏ

Fried champignon and brocolli
Jamur goreng dan brokoli

Maret 2013

Maret adalah bulan yang biasa-biasa aja; karena tidak banyak, selain bekerja maksudnya, yang terjadi dalam hidupku. Cuacanya juga masih agak dingin sih tetapi sudah tidak membekukan lagi.

April 2013

During Kensington's Performance
Konsernya Kensington

Separuh pertama bulan April kurang lebih sama seperti bulan Maretku; kehidupanku begitu-begitu aja deh di sekitar urusan kerjaan. Ah, aku jadi kepikiran nih bahwa sepertinya aku harus membuat rencana apaan di bulan Maret atau awal April supaya setidaknya bulan-bulan ini lebih menarik! Hahaha๐Ÿ˜† . Di akhir bulan April, aku pergi ke Den Haag untuk merayakan Koninginnenachtย (Malam Ratu) disana. Ini adalah kali pertama aku merayakan Koninginnenacht di Belanda loh (aku sih sudah pernah ke Koninginnedag di Amsterdam di tahun 2011). Ngomongin masalah ini, ini adalah Koninginnenacht (atau Koninginnedag) terakhir loh karena Ratu Beatrix memutuskan untuk pensiun tahun ini, dan penerusnya adalah Raja Willem-Alexander. Jadi, mulai tahun 2014 nanti, liburan ini tidak akan dikenal sebagai Koninginnedag lagi (Hari Ratu) melainkan Koningsdag (Hari Raja).

Mei 2013

Mei adalah bulan yang lebih menyibukkan karena aku memulai proses perburuan apartemenku di bulan ini. Kontrakku dengan apartemen sebelumnya akan berakhir di akhir Juli dan aku tidak akan bisa memperpanjang kontraknya. Akhirnya, aku lega sekali aku dan seorang roommate-ku berhasil menemukan apartemen yang oke ini (keputusannya dibuat di bulan Juni sih). Mei jugalah bulan dengan banyak long weekends, karena tiga dari empat akhir pekan yang berturut-turut adalah long weekend loh!๐Ÿ˜ฏ Aku juga memutuskan untuk membeli sebuah sepeda baru di bulan Mei juga; dan ada acara reuni kecil dengan teman-temanku dari program Masters (S2)-ku di Delft di pertengahan Mei.

Serena Williams won her fourth round match
Serena Williams menang di Roland Garros
Novak Djokovic hitting a forehand.
Novak Djokovic memukul pukulan forehand.
Self-camming session at Philippe Chatrier, lol.
Selfie di Philippe Chatrier, lol.

Mei berakhir dengan seru untukku, karena aku pergi ke Paris untuk menonton French Open untuk kedua kali berturut-turut. Kali ini, aku pergi di middle weekend-nya sehingga aku mendapatkan pertandingan-pertandingan di babak keempat turnamennya. Dan aku mendapatkan kursi di Philippe Chatrier loh, lapangan utama turnamennya. Di kunjunganku selama dua hari di turnamen ini, aku berkesempatan menonton pertandingannya Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer, Serena Williams, Victoria Azarenka, dan Maria Sharapova!๐Ÿ˜ฏ

Juni 2013

Seperti di tahun 2012, Juni adalah bulan yang penuh acara jalan-jalan, huahaha๐Ÿ˜Ž . Bulan Juni aku mulai dan akhiri bukan di Belanda, dan bahkan keduanya di negara yang berbeda loh. Pertengahan Juli, aku pergi ke London untuk menghadiri sebuah konferensi selama hampir satu minggu. Ini adalah perjalanan konferensiku yang pertama di masa-masa PhD-ku; dan rasanya seru juga. Dan agak sedikit bikin deg-degan juga sih karena ini adalah kali pertama aku pergi sendiri loh, tidak dengan pembimbingku. Tetapi untungnya semua berjalan dengan lancar.

My badge and the programme catalogue
Badge dan katalog program konferensi di London
Dance floor with the live music
Lantai dansa di National History Museum, London

Bulan Juni aku akhiri dengan mengambil libur selama satu minggu untuk pergi ke London lagi. Yah, alasannya rasanya jelas banget lah ya?๐Ÿ˜‰ Iya dong, aku kembali kesana untuk menonton Kejuaraan Wimbledon. Aku berada di London di minggu pertama turnamennya, yang mana aku kunjungi tiga kali. Dan aku harus mengantri loh di tiga kunjungan itu, jadi rasanya melelahkan banget secara fisik! Aku tidak mendapatkan pertandingan di Centre Court-nya, tetapi toh aku masih bisa menonton nama-nama besar seperti Serena Williams, Juan Martin del Potro, Tomas Berdych, dan Richard Gasquet.

Serena Williams hitting a backhand return
Serena Williams ย memukul backhand return
The famous chestbump by the Bryan twins celebrating their victory
Chestbump-nya si kembar Bryan yang terkenal
A trip to Wimbledon will not be complete without a bowl of strawberry and cream
Perjalanan ke Wimbledon tak akan lengkap tanpa seporsi stroberi dan krim

Juli 2013

Tema utama kehidupanku di bulan Juli adalah pindahan. Kontrakku dengan apartemen lamaku akan berakhir di akhir Juli sementara kontrakku dengan apartemen yang baru akan dimulai di awal Juli. Ini adalah setting yang sempurna karena aku ada waktu satu bulan untuk pindah sehingga aku tidak harus memindahkan segalanya bebarengan kan. ย Walaupun begitu, satu bulan berlalu dengan cepat lho! Dan aku pergi bolak-balik dari apartemen lama dan baruku setiap hari deh!๐Ÿ˜† Di akhir Juli, tentu saja aku juga harus mengurus hal-hal lainnya seperti koneksi TV dan internet misalnya.

Agustus 2013

Het gele boek for my Intermediate Dutch course
Het gele boek untuk les bahasa Belanda level intermediate-ku

Kalau aku amat sibuk di bulan Juli, aku baru sadar bahwa seharusnya aku juga merencanakan sesuatu untuk bulan Agustus. Semua orang pergi berlibur musim panas loh di bulan Agustus sementara aku bekerja sendirian gitu deh di kantor. Tapi bulan Agustus ini penting juga sih karena aku mengatur beberapa perencanaan yang akan membuatku amat sibuk sepanjang dua bulan yang akan datang di bulan ini. Aku mendaftarkan diri ke kelas bahasa Belanda untuk periode yang akan datang dan aku juga ditunjuk menjadi asisten dosen di sebuah kelas di semester depan juga.

September 2013

Dengan semester baru yang dimulai, tiba-tiba aku menjadi amat sibuk dengan pekerjaanku karena ada berbagai macam hal yang berbeda-beda yang harus dikerjakan. Aku harus menjalankan riset utamaku (tentu saja), hal-hal yang berkaitan dengan mengajar, dan juga kelas bahasa Belanda. Mengerjakan ketiga hal ini, ditambah hal-hal personal lainnya, beneran banyak banget loh yang harus dikerjakan! Di akhir September, aku menghadiri pertemuan Go/No Go-ku dan untungnya hasilnya adalah “Go”, yang mana artinya riset PhD (S3)-ku berjalan dengan baik-baik saja.

Oktober 2013

Oktober kurang lebih berjalan mirip seperti September, hanya saja ada satu tenggat waktu yang datang sehingga rasanya jadi stress banget deh! Hahaha๐Ÿ˜† . Yang memotivasiku adalah rencana jalan-jalan besar yang akan aku mulai di akhir bulan ini. Dan akhirnya, aku takjub juga bahwa aku mampu melalui itu semua dan menyelesaikan semuanya tepat waktu. Btw, acara jalan-jalan besar yang kumaksud tentu saja adalah acara liburanku ke Asia selama satu bulan dimana akhirnya, setelah tiga tahun dan dua bulan, aku kembali juga ke Indonesia untuk berlibur๐Ÿ™‚ . Dan akhirnya, untuk pertama kalinya seumur hidup, aku terbang dengan pesawat Airbus A380 loh!!๐Ÿ˜€

See the size of this aircraft!
Lihat deh ukuran si Airbus A380 ini!

November 2013

Tema utama di bulan November tentu saja acara liburanku di Asia selama sebulan itu. Bulan November aku mulai di Yogyakarta. Kemudian, aku pergi ke Bandung selama dua hari, diikuti dengan acara jalan-jalan ke pulau Belitung dan Bangka bersama orangtua dan adikku. Setelahnya, kami melanjutkan perjalanan ke Korea Selatan selama satu minggu dan mampir di Kuala Lumpur selama tiga malam. Aku memiliki waktu kurang lebih lima hari lagi setelahnya sebelum akhirnya harus pulang ke Belanda.

Pulau Lengkuas as seen from the top of the lighthouse
Pulau Lengkuas terlihat dari atas mercusuar
Such a magnificent view from the top of the lighthouse
Pemandangan dari atas mercusuarnya indah banget
Tanjung Penyusuk beach
Pantai Tanjung Penyusuk
Parai Beach
Pantai Parai di Bangka

Tentu saja acara jalan-jalannya seru banget, dan sudah saatnya banget lah ya setelah sekian lama di Belanda!! Tapi mungkin aku merencanakan terlalu banyak acara deh, karena setelahnya rasanya badanku capek banget! Hahaha๐Ÿ˜† . Ya, tentu saja asyik-asyik aja sih, tetapi terbang enam belas kali dalam periode empat minggu dan totalnya meng-cover 39.800 km (pesawatnya aja lho ini) tentu saja berefek di badan๐Ÿ˜€ .

Gyeongbokgung Palace
Istana Gyeongbokgung
At Seongsan Ilchubong
Di Seongsan Ilchubong, Jeju
Jusangjeolli rock
Karang Jusangjeolli di Jeju
Haedong Yonggungsa Temple
Kuil Haedong Yonggungsa

Desember 2013

Bulan Desember aku habiskan dengan bekerja dan bekerja, karena aku merasa bahwa aku perlu bekerja lebih keras agar kemajuan proyekku lebih cepat. Dan bulan Desember sendiri memiliki aura unik dimana liburan segera tiba dan orang-orang mulai menyambutnya sehingga semua orang berada dalam mood berlibur.

Untuk mengakhiri tahun ini, aku nggak mau kalau bakal cuma di Delft aja. Jadilah aku merencanakan sebuah acara jalan-jalan, dan karena toh visa UK-ku masih berlaku, aku memutuskan tujuannya adalah UK aja. Tapi tentu saja aku ingin pergi ke tempat yang belum pernah kukunjungi sebelumnya dong ya. Oleh karena itulah pilihanku jatuh ke Inggris Barat dan tahun ini akan aku akhiri disana.

8 thoughts on “#1329 – 2013 in Review

    1. Iya, lumayan seru tahun ini sebenarnya. Tapi memang nggak se-“rame” tahun lalu sih, hehehe๐Ÿ˜€ . Iya, mudah-mudahan 2014 lebih seru ya! Trims! Happy New Year juga!!!๐Ÿ˜€

    1. Rajin gimana Non?๐Ÿ˜€

      Iya, lumayan seru tahun ini. Tapi kalau dirasain ya agak “lempeng” gitu, mungkin karena gak “seramai” tahun sebelumnya ya, hehehe๐Ÿ˜€ .

    1. Happy New Year juga!๐Ÿ˜€

      Mudah-mudahan 2014 tahun yang lebih baik๐Ÿ˜€ Sudah ada kepikiran beberapa travel ideas sih tapi masih sebatas ide aja, belum dibuat jadi kenyataan (beli tiketnya maksudnya๐Ÿ˜› ).

Leave a Reply

